Poets logo

Lowering Raised Eyebrows

A Poem on Handling Condescension

By Michelle LiewPublished 14 days ago 1 min read
4
Lowering Raised Eyebrows
Photo by Jamie Fenn on Unsplash

Everyone's familiar with the raised eyebrow. Yes, it's the one that people give you when they doubt what you're telling them, or worse, when they're speaking with you on rather bigoted terms.

Yes, being condescended to is an unpleasant feeling. It makes one feel inadequate, shortchanged and unworthy, in many cases.

All of us reserve the right to express valid views, and should stand up for them when they're discounted.

It's time to lower the raised eyebrow calmly, assertively, with a little humour and some space. Enjoy these cinquains.

Raised brows

Lower the lids

With gentle pat of hand

But firm parting of lips

We slowly guide them to a point

Lowered

Raised brows

Lower the lids

With a funny chortle

And a ring around self

Gradually lower to a point

Even

Cinquaininspirational
4

About the Creator

Michelle Liew

Hi, i am an English Language teacher cum freelance writer with a taste for pets, prose and poetry. When I'm not writing my heart out, I'm playing with my three dogs, Zorra, Cloudy and Snowball.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani13 days ago

    Nice one Michelle! Definitely something for us to think about.

  • I'm a veryyyyy skeptical person and I don't trust what people say easily. But I don't raise my eyebrows at them hehehe. Loved your poem!

  • Andrea Corwin 13 days ago

    Even!! My facial expressions are many and people misunderstand my “thinking about it” to annoyance.

  • Amazing poem! 😊

  • You described the eyelids marvelously.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.