Poets logo

Love is Not for Me

A disenchanted poem

By Layson WilliamsPublished 19 days ago 1 min read
2
Love is Not for Me
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Love is none but pain and sorrow,

Love is grief and tears.

Love is poison that affects you

Slowly through the years.

Once love gets a hold on you,

It won't set you free.

Love is fatal happiness.

Love is not for me.

She and I were just good friends,

And then became much more.

I started feeling things for her

I never felt before.

Dark eyes promising return…

That's the last I'd see.

Then it was I realized

Love is not for me.

To see and love her once again-

That dream can't come true.

The truth confirmed she married off-

That's not what made me blue.

To hold her in my arms once more-

That can never be.

Grief is mortar for my loss.

Love is not for me.

Loneliness is my companion;

We will never part.

Time explains how none can mend

This my broken heart.

Love will permanently scar you.

Love's a parody

Of happiness and loneliness.

Love is not for me.

social commentarysad poetrylove poemsheartbreakFriendship
2

About the Creator

Layson Williams

My writing name is Layson Williams. I also use the same name when driving for Uber. I have a world in my head, and writing short stories helps me bring it into focus. What am I looking for? feedback, mostly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mika Oka19 days ago

    One day, one shall find a love that's for them

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.