Poets logo

Junior Mints

summer movies and minty memories

By M. A. Mehan Published 2 months ago 2 min read
4
Junior Mints
Photo by Meritt Thomas on Unsplash

Up and down the aisles we race,

Through the humble dollar store.

On a hunting spree, my siblings I chase,

As our shoes slide 'cross the floor.

We skid to a halt in front of our prize,

Candy far as the eye can see,

We each choose one with delighted cries,

And back to the checkout we flee.

We have to hurry, we have to scurry,

the movie is starting soon,

We burst out into the late morning heat,

"Mom says that it's beginning at noon!"

We pile into the trusty sedan,

And look over our precious haul,

And plot our ever-devious plan,

To smuggle them into those sacred walls.

There's sour and sweet and salty there too,

Sneaking into my child-sized tote,

There's pretzels to crunch on and fruit gum to chew,

And the one that small-me thought was the G.O.A.T.

Junior mints! my movie snack bliss!

I choose them lovingly every summer.

And if it's not there, my heart's an abyss,

I guess you could say it's a bummer.

We settle in the darkening room,

I rip into the cheap plastic wrapping.

I get my first taste in the chilly-cold gloom,

And I fight off the urge to start clapping.

Junior mints! my movie snack bliss!

I choose them lovingly every summer.

And if it's not there, my heart's an abyss,

I guess you could say it's a bummer.

We're ten minutes into a forgettable flick,

And my junior mints have all but vanished.

I mourn the end of my snack and try not to get sick

But by the end of the film I am famished.

Junior mints! my movie snack bliss!

I choose them lovingly every summer.

And if it's not there, my heart's an abyss,

I guess you could say it's a bummer.

The movie is over, the credits roll by,

And I think what a good day this had been.

I already wish that the next week was nigh

So we can do it all over again.

Junior mints! my movie snack bliss!

I choose them lovingly every summer.

And if it's not there, my heart's an abyss,

I guess you could say it's a bummer.

humorFor FunFamilychildrens poetry
4

About the Creator

M. A. Mehan

"It simply isn't an adventure worth telling if there aren't any dragons." ~ J. R. R. Tolkien

storyteller // vampire // drink goblin // arizona desert rat

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • D.K. Shepard2 months ago

    Love junior mints! We bought our movie snacks at the dollar store too. Great nostalgic poem with good flow!

  • Grz Colm2 months ago

    Yes, good use of repetition..I’m in Australia and haven’t been able to find these in a while but I enjoyed them too. ☺️👍

  • I loved the repetitive lines! I sang this to my own tune!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.