Poets logo

I Should Have Asked For Better

Ask me in December, Babs' Unofficial Challenge

By Alexandria StanwyckPublished 12 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - April 2024
24
I Should Have Asked For Better
Photo by Stéphane Juban on Unsplash

Here is Bab's unofficial challenge piece:

***

I kept asking for December

because it's the only time I remembered

the season matched my state of mind

and cold & bitter wasn't just one of a kind.

*

I should have asked for better.

*

The trees weren't the only thing that were bare;

I kept baring my soul with words from my diary to see if you would start to care

about the fact I kept stripping myself of my colorful leaves

and giving them to you as gifts because 'the best of me you'll receive.'

*

I should have took them back because I deserved better.

*

Snow fell as I bled myself dry, red on white was considered beautiful.

I allowed the snow to cover it up, like a blindfold made of wool

hiding the toxicity from only me because everyone else was already enlightened.

Knowing that now is why the pain of stitching and thawing was heightened.

*

But now I know to ask for better.

*

Go ahead and call me selfish when I don't offer my coat anymore.

I deserve warmth that isn't from some video of a fireplace dressed in decor.

Go ahead and call me different when I decide to hang out at home instead of with you.

I'm a social butterfly who learned to draw her boundaries in red instead of pale blue.

*

I am giving myself better.

*

So ask me in December,

while I watch the last of us reduce to lukewarm embers,

if I regret what I went through.

I don't because I stopped destroying myself for you.

*

Because loving myself is better.

***

Word Count: 260 words

social commentarynature poetryMental HealthinspirationalheartbreakFriendshipFor Fun
24

About the Creator

Alexandria Stanwyck

My inner child screams joyfully as I fall back in love with writing.

I am on social media! (Discord, Facebook, Instagram, and TikTok.)

instead of therapy poetry and lyrics collection is available on Amazon.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Belle6 days ago

    Beautiful work! The imagery is amazing! Truly feel like I am sitting at the fire on a snowy night while reading this. Congratulations on top story!

  • Anna 6 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!

  • Andrea Corwin 7 days ago

    Congratulations on TS. Great job!

  • Gloria Penelope8 days ago

    Congratulations on top story! keep up the good work.

  • D. D. Lee9 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story! I enjoyed this entry, definitely top 5 of the stories I read from Babs’ challenge thus far.

  • Congratulations on your top story.

  • Ameer Bibi10 days ago

    Congratulations 🎉🎉 for top story inspiring and Fabolous amazing story

  • Dana Crandell10 days ago

    Very nicely penned and highly inspirational. Congratulations on the Top Story!

  • The Dani Writer10 days ago

    A power punch of a poem with just the right amount of "chilling" elements to capture attention. Well done to you for being featured as a top story!

  • Cathy holmes10 days ago

    This is beautiful. Congrats on the TS.

  • angela hepworth10 days ago

    amazing contribution to the challenge!

  • Christy Munson10 days ago

    Incredible take on the unofficial challenge. Thoroughly enjoyed this one. Also, congratulations on Top Story!

  • Shirley Belk11 days ago

    Very empowering

  • Babs Iverson12 days ago

    Awesome!!! Loved your closing stanza and last line!!! 💕❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.