Poets logo

I do not sleep

I hold to hope

By BreezyPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
1
I do not sleep
Photo by Milada Vigerova on Unsplash

It is the middle of the night.

I do not sleep.

A loved one is fighting for her life.

Does her body have the strength to keep fighting?

Does she have the will to cling to life?

Does she know that her recovery may be a long and difficult one?

What would I choose if I were in her position?

It’s easy to forget how fragile; how tenuous our hold on this world really is.

Life can change so violently between one heartbeat to the next.

That’s why people call The Present a gift, because no one is guaranteed a tomorrow.

I do not sleep.

But I hold to hope that she will see the dawn.

sad poetryFamily
1

About the Creator

Breezy

I'm a mom of four and a lover of stories. Unfortunately, the busy mom life doesn't leave a lot of time for reading and writing, but audiobooks and the stories they tell help make the daily mundanity more bearable.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Esala Gunathilake9 days ago

    You've nicely done it.

  • Rowan Finley 2 months ago

    Beautifully written! Thank you for sharing.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.