Poets logo

Fighting small

A mood for the day

By Hannah MoorePublished 13 days ago 1 min read
15

Today I’ll hold my head up high,

Shrug off my hooded cape,

Step boldy forward, exposed, raw wounds,

Not fearing mouths agape.

In truth it is not shock I fear,

Disgust, or hate, or mirth,

Its passing by, that head held high,

And feeling only dearth

Of anyone who turns their gaze,

Of anyone who sees me,

Its knowing I’m not thought about,

A wraith forgotten quickly.

My stride today is wide and quick,

My spine is straight and strong,

Mind and body shrugging off,

The sense I don’t belong.

I tell myself, and try to listen

“Don’t let those thoughts define you,

To thyself be true, and know inside,

You’re worth love, you have value.”

I know that I must hold this torch,

I know it should not matter,

And on this day, I’ll kick my heels,

And watch the self-doubts scatter.

But if you see me sway or stumble,

If you witness me here at all,

Don’t be afraid to meet my eye,

For its together we grow tall.

inspirational
15

About the Creator

Hannah Moore

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Paul Stewart11 days ago

    Aw...been there, felt that...regularly feel it. I love how you made it universal at the end and almos an invite to connect. Just...beautiful stuff really. Made me smile and almost...a little teary...but I hope you know...most people feel the same at times...it doesn't mean it's true (damn...fucking therapy seeping out there lol) but anyway, yes, this is just great writing, just honest, unapologetic...inspiring and actually does a lot to undo and correct any negative thoughts you may have about yourself. You have value not just because you can write so eloquently and raw at the same time, but because I always sense that you are the type of person who tries...tries to be one of the good ones...genuine, thoughtful...etc. Worthwhile. Anyway, rambling a lot. We have clouds today. lol.

  • Tiffany Gordon 11 days ago

    ❤️❤️❤️❤️

  • D.K. Shepard12 days ago

    The last three lines really delivered a strong close to an introspective yet relatable piece! Nicely done, Hannah!

  • I absolutely love this!

  • Kenny Penn13 days ago

    Beautiful! A very inspiring poem, Hannah, so good!

  • Caroline Craven13 days ago

    This has a feel of John Donne to it. I love it. Really uplifting and powerful.

  • Dana Crandell13 days ago

    Bold, honest and highly inspirational! A great read.

  • I would say this is top notched. Congratulations.

  • Manisha Dhalani13 days ago

    This was rather empowering. Amazing poem!

  • Novel Allen13 days ago

    Ah, those days of discontent, doubt and all around asking of questions seeking answers from the universe. We all have them. Yep. We shrug them off and carry on. So very well said H. and with a lovely royal color.

  • Christy Munson13 days ago

    Inspirational in spite of or perhaps because of self-doubt wandering in. Always helpful to have company along the journey! Love "together we grow".

  • John Cox13 days ago

    Believing in and loving ourselves are both the greatest of gifts and the hardest. I loved the honesty and courage of your voice in this poem, Hannah. I felt it deeply.

  • This was so optimistic and uplifting! So beautifully written!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.