Poets logo

Eggshells

Don't be afraid

By Cathy holmesPublished 18 days ago 1 min read
20
Photo by Viktor Talashuk on Unsplash

Why walk on eggshells,

when the inevitable

tastes like cherry pie?

SenryuheartbreakGratitude
20

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (19)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon 9 days ago

    Well done!!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)13 days ago

    I love the simplicity of this piece Cathy!!

  • Cathy, simple, spare, and brilliant!!!

  • Gina C.17 days ago

    I, like everyone else, now wants cherry pie. ☺️ But also, I love this. It speaks to me in a way that says, "just do it." Relief is sweet? Indeed. Awesome job, my friend! 🤗❤️

  • Jay Kantor17 days ago

    Hi Ch - We are surrounded with Cherry Blossom trees, but Nary a 'Cherry.' Having an Egg~Shell pie/wit a dollop. Thank you and Gerald for your well wishes. I'm back with vigor. Wrote a message of appreciation under my 'Wedded~Bliss' to the VocalVillage. - Always my Pleasure - j.in.l.a.

  • Shirley Belk17 days ago

    Even if the inevitable tasted like sour milk, never walk on eggshells

  • L.C. Schäfer17 days ago

    Great now I want pie. I know this wasn't the point, but pie.

  • But I don't like cherry pie. I want a chocolate pie. Oooo, make that a brownie please. Oh wait, how about a creme brulee cheesecake? I love those! Okay I'm getting carried away hehehe. Loved your Senryu!

  • Ameer Bibi18 days ago

    I totally relates your words amazing small but having deep lesson

  • Brilliant. Liked it.

  • John Cox18 days ago

    Pie, good. Me want pie! This clearly has a deeper meaning, but my stomach growling louder than I can think. Are you saying I will like confronting the people whose behavior causes me to tip toe around them as much as cherry pie? Me thinks you must write from experience. I’m from the American Midwest where walking on eggshells is an art-form.

  • D.K. Shepard18 days ago

    Delightful! Just like pie! Well done! 👏

  • Thanks a lot. Now I want pie. ;-)

  • Babs Iverson18 days ago

    Sweet!!! 💕❤️❤️

  • Christy Munson18 days ago

    Tasty take on life! So delicious. Why walk on eggshells indeed?

  • Andrea Corwin 18 days ago

    What?? Oh my - so original. I love it Cathy‼️😁

  • Hannah Moore18 days ago

    Ah, but it's like every flavour beans, don't know if it's cherry pie or rotting egg under there.

  • Fantastic Haiku!

  • Jazzy 18 days ago

    YES WHY WOULD WE INDEED? Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.