Poets logo

Do I call this wreckage place my home

Christmas day

By KodahPublished 15 days ago โ€ข 1 min read
19
Pinterest

All this stuff inside my Christmas stocking

~

All this debris from my father's nomadic life,

Paper and pens from trade shows

Diminutive packages with tiny soaps

And shampoos and toothbrushes from hotels

Little plastic magic tricks wrapped in shrink-wrap

Short pieces of metal bound together in clever ways

Brain teasers to be untangled.

The man I call Daddy,

Who takes me away and makes me feel awe

And love and terror;

To do or say the wrong thing would take away the sense of security we are inventing here out of necessity~

I'm crying because I want to go back to my mum's house

For some reason, my dad is crying for the same thing.

FamilyMental Healthheartbreak
19

About the Creator

Kodah

- Storyteller, Love/Romance, Poetry, Dark, Mental health, Psychological, Surreal, Nature, Mythical

~๐“ข๐“ฝ๐“ธ๐“ป๐“ฒ๐“ฎ๐“ผ ๐“ฌ๐“ช๐“ท ๐“ซ๐“ฎ ๐“ช ๐“ต๐“ฒ๐“ฝ๐“ฝ๐“ต๐“ฎ ๐“ญ๐“ฎ๐“ฎ๐“น~

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Sarah Danaher13 days ago

    heartbreaking and very sad

  • Mika Oka14 days ago

    This is heartbreaking

  • Priya P.14 days ago

    Nicely done Kodah! Good depth of emotion.

  • Lunaverse14 days ago

    This is so sad ๐Ÿฅบ Iโ€™m so sorry Kodah. Brilliantly done!

  • And that's why I always say that not everyone should be a mother or father. I'm so sorry this happened to you ๐Ÿฅบ Sending you lots of love and hugs โค๏ธ

  • Jade Loson14 days ago

    Wow great poem. Deep meaning here. Well done ๐Ÿ’œ

  • Carrie 15 days ago

    Excellent story telling! Nicely done Kodah๐Ÿ™Œ

  • Andrea Corwin 15 days ago

    Oh no. I thought it was going to be cleaning out after he died but turns out differently and more sad. Nice job and the photo is perfect. ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘

  • That last line hits like a gut punch. Great snapshot of pain and beautiful poetry.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.