Poets logo

Dear raven

-

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 18 days ago 1 min read
5
Rue and the Raven from Princess Tutu

My eyes have so much weight after crying, my dear raven

You can have them all

You were once my biggest dream, of soft colors, cuddles and kisses

You gave me scars, scares and sadness

As a young raven, a boy with dark raven eyes, so heavy and sad

Angry is better than crying

Pain is better not free from its bonds

I can't save you, though I loved you

I still love you

No soft colors

Just warm frothy torture sitting on the stove

From when your mother left it burning in the back

You kept making me eat your leftover transfer of trauma

If forever, if not eternity than for too long

You say you're tired of me, for 1,000’s of old recorded radio I heard this as you never let me go

Why lose your favorite toy to break?

To make and shake and rip and love?

I advance to you like a dreamer who remembers you as a young raven

Frantic for love but getting pain

I start to shed my soft colors and become gray

Gray and black and yellow

But not cheery yellow, dingy, and dirty yellow
You mock me for survival
You can't heal when your abuser pays all your bills
I take the following train

Deep down to Sheol

Hell is a better friend than you have been

And heaven wants me to repent

I will send my regards in a letter to you for a dear raven love,

When I first loved you, so much without knowing you
When I loved you as a monster, a violent raven

When I love you now

& everything that hurts before you resurrected again without any care or worry

You brought out the raven in me

Restricted and whipped

heartbreak
5

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran18 days ago

    "Just warm frothy torture sitting on the stove From when your mother left it burning in the back You kept making me eat your leftover transfer of trauma" Gosh these lines were so freaking mindblowing! I also loved the line where we can't heal if our abuser pays all our bills. Loved your poem Merly!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.