Poets logo

catching flies

#poem-most-days :)

By Heather HublerPublished 13 days ago 1 min read
12
Created with NightCafeStudio

~

seems my doors and windows are nailed shut.

i need a hammer to break free.

but all i have are two angry fists

and a mouth full of barbs

that catch insults like flies

in bile-flavoured honey.

down, they drip and swirl

bloating my belly where

the truth bomb sits heavy.

/

and i know the breaking point is near.

my skin is too damn tight.

my bones weep with the pressure.

i. want. to. detonate.

/

if only the spark would light...

but it's a vacuum in here,

my little prison.

tick

tock

tick

tock

watch me implode.

____________________________________________________

Thank you so much for reading today's piece!

I'm honestly not trying to write back-to-back downers, but I saw a quote today about when one door/window closes, another one opens...and my mind immediately said, what if they're both nailed shut, lol. I also wanted to use this picture I had saved :)

sad poetryStream of Consciousness
12

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Esala Gunathilake12 days ago

    Liked it.

  • D.K. Shepard12 days ago

    I got more and more uncomfortable as this progressed. Nicely done!

  • This was so relatable, it's exactlyyyyyyy what I'm feeling right now. Loved your poem so much!

  • Kenny Penn13 days ago

    Oy this one is like a dagger to the heart. I’ve felt this way so it hits hard. Great poem

  • John Cox13 days ago

    Holy crap, Heather! Is everything OK?

  • Amazing poem! Well written♥️

  • This painted such a vivid picture. Maybe it's a downer, but I think it's powerful and I love it!

  • Hannah Moore13 days ago

    It's fair though. Sometimes they're all closed.

  • Cathy holmes13 days ago

    This is excellent. Lots of great lines,.but "bile-flavored honey." Eww. I could almost taste it. 😁😬

  • Babs Iverson13 days ago

    Spectacular stream of consciousness!!! Loving it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Lovely anger here well done

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.