Poets logo

can't get over it

over it

By Moharif YuliantoPublished 13 days ago 1 min read
1
can't get over it
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

The ghost of you lingers, a scent in the air,

A melody haunting me, a fragment, a prayer.

The echo of laughter, a touch, a kind word,

A constant reminder of all that's unheard.

My heart, a locked room, the key lost in dreams,

Holding memories captive, bathed in moonbeams.

The silence screams volumes, a deafening roar,

Of promises whispered, then spoken no more.

I walk through the world, a half-painted scene,

The vibrant hues faded, where once they had been.

Each laugh I encounter, a shard of your light,

Makes darkness return, heavy, oppressive night.

I try to forget, to move on, to mend,

But the threads of the past, they refuse to transcend.

Like a record on repeat, the memories spin,

Of moments we shared, the love that had been.

The future unfolds, a path yet unknown,

But shadowed by echoes, a love overthrown.

Will the sun ever pierce through this veil of despair?

Can a heart ever heal, ever truly repair?

I search for the answer, a light in the storm,

A way to move forward, a way to be warm.

But the burden of grief, it weighs me down still,

A prisoner of longing, trapped on this hill.

Perhaps time will soften the edges of pain,

And memories transform, like whispers in rain.

But for now, I must carry this weight on my chest,

And hope that someday, this heartache finds rest.

There's beauty in letting go, I know it is true,

But releasing your ghost, it feels far too soon.

So I'll hold you in fragments, a bittersweet hold,

Until the day dawns, when my story unfolds.

Elegy
1

About the Creator

Moharif Yulianto

a freelance writer and thesis preparation in his country, youtube content creator, facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Esala Gunathilake13 days ago

    I liked it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.