Poets logo

By The Book

Since you went away

By Frankie MartinelliPublished 15 days ago Updated 15 days ago 1 min read
6
By The Book
Photo by ameenfahmy on Unsplash

Locked in my room

With this university assignment

Since you went away

I just love some solitary confinement

I'd look for our memories,

but something tells me I wouldn't find them

You'd listen to me talk

Then tell me you've not got time,

and I'll do everything by the book

Locked in my room

With this university assignment

I'm only in my 30's,

but I'd just love an early retirement

I'd look for your face again,

and hope I've not used up all my chances

You're still in all of my thoughts

I pray for whatever comes after

I'll do everything by the book

love poemsheartbreak
6

About the Creator

Frankie Martinelli

Musician.

All work is copyrighted, and is my own.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani14 days ago

    Interesting poem. Didn't see it from this perspective, but nicely done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.