Poets logo

Basquiat

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 20 days ago 1 min read
8
Jean-Michel Basquiat‘s painting

Someone once told me that… well, maybe, I heard it. On the radio or the television. They said that, “When I talk, no one believes me. But, when I write it down, it becomes true.”

I am the gutter rat that strived to

Died to be

A ghost tied to the wall

There was once

A

Boy who wore a crown

No one could see it

But he could feel it

The weight of the burden was tantalizing

So very early in the morning, before even the birds have awoken. I found you staring at the sun and I got so damn jealous

Why does the sun get to warm you up when I'm right here next to you?

love poemsheartbreakFree Versefact or fictionart
8

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous will be published by Eukalypto

& Atonement will be released this August by JMS Books

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • C. Rommial Butler19 days ago

    Well-wrought!

  • "So very early in the morning, before even the birds have awoken. I found you staring at the sun and I got so damn jealous Why does the sun get to warm you up when I'm right here next to you?" These were my favourite lines! Loved this so much Merly!

  • Kendall Defoe 19 days ago

    'Why does the sun get to warm you up when I'm right here next to you?' You got me with this one. Excellent...and I have read books on the man and been a fan for ages! ;)

  • Ameer Bibi20 days ago

    It is well written, and I have also seen many people in my life who can't speak in public or even in small gatherings, just like an introvert or maybe shy person. However, when I read their research articles and other writings published in high-impact factor peer-reviewed journals and their way of discussion, I never believed that he was the same person. But it is true; writing is a power of words that come from imagination and thoughts, and you have it all.

  • I believe you! Amazing poem!

  • This comment has been deleted

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.