Poets logo

Anyway

Maybe flowers grow with time

By Frankie MartinelliPublished 28 days ago Updated 28 days ago 1 min read
7
Anyway
Photo by Allison Wopata on Unsplash

What's happening?

You alright?

How did you sleep?

because the "sleep" I had didn't even touch the sides

Time heals?

That's obviously a lie

It's stood still since you left,

and you'll never understand why

I could lay here all day

To try and recover the sleep that was lost

My laundry is piling up

Waiting to be washed

With every kiss

With every shred of love we made

No matter the cost

If my kids should ask me who I loved most one day

I shall speak your name

What are you battling?

You alright?

How did you sleep?

Okay, I'll stop asking

These habits are hard to break when you're on my mind

Screw how this feels

Maybe flowers grow in time

I've got a reminder of you in the middle of my chest,

and you'll never understand why

I could lay here all day

To try and recover the sleep that was lost

My laundry is piling up

Waiting to be washed

With every kiss

With every shred of love that we made

If my kids should ask me why my true love couldn't stay

I'll tell them "I will always love her anyway"

love poemsheartbreak
7

About the Creator

Frankie Martinelli

Musician.

All work is copyrighted, and is my own.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • AliMart28 days ago

    Like it

  • Wow, you’re an amazing poet! Well written! You’re so good!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.