Poets logo

A Mailbox Melody

For poppy’s May challenge #5

By Natasha CollazoPublished 19 days ago Updated 19 days ago 1 min read
11
A Mailbox Melody
Photo by Christina Deravedisian on Unsplash

Again he ruffled my feathers.

Knowing well he will only pluck them out.

I tugged my finger as I carefully watched it descend down the spine of the dotted fold in my spiral notepad,

detaching the paper from the trimmed lines,

as it slid a baritone break..

The melody my ink sang as it dripped off my pen

and onto the lines forming a dedication of yet again, invaluable words to him,

that erode my confidence.

The ink had a strong scent, like wet paint.

Blowing soft wind with my lips over the written cursive “I love you” so it wouldn’t smear

before folding it in halves.

Gliding my tongue along the minty sticky strip,

sealing the letter with a kiss.

I addressed the envelope to myself.

Stream of ConsciousnessOdelove poemsinspirationalFree Verse
11

About the Creator

Natasha Collazo

**Studying Modern Journalism @ NYU **

Project: The diary of an emo Latina

I get inspired at the mid of night

Stock market by day, howler by night

✍🏽

Inquiries: [email protected]

Instagram: @sunnycollazo

Do all things in love

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk17 days ago

    I loved your descriptions here!!!

  • D.K. Shepard18 days ago

    So vivid!! Loved the clever opening lines, the impactful close, and everything in between!

  • Poppy 18 days ago

    Aww I adore the ending. I was hooked right from the start but I love the uplifting message of this.

  • Anna 19 days ago

    Awesome work! Well written and heartfelt😊

  • This is amazing!

  • "The melody my ink sang as it dripped off my pen and onto the lines forming a dedication of yet again, invaluable words to him, that erode my confidence." Those were my favourite lines! I reread them a few times. Loved your poem!

  • So heartfelt! Self-love is so important, beautiful reminder. You inspire me to write a letter to myself 🥰🌸💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.