Petlife logo

Ten Lessons I Learned From My Dog

"People say dogs are man's best friend, but I don't let my best friend sleep in my bed. Mind you, I don't let them shit in my garden either."

By L.C. SchäferPublished 6 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - December 2023
43
Ten Lessons I Learned From My Dog
Photo by Martin Dalsgaard on Unsplash

I don't get people who don't get dogs.

I don't like all dogs, just like I don't like all people. They have distinct personalities, and some are infinitely more likeable than others. Some are probably basically decent, but seem to have been poorly raised. But on the whole, I'm a dog person, and I'm going to spell it out to you exactly why.

Sure, dogs can be smelly and messy and gross... but so can people.

In fact, the worst things about most dogs are still better than the best things about most people.

I'll wait while you read that line again.

I think, even if you don't like dogs very much, and whether or not you choose to share your life and home with one, their value should be obvious. Reams have already been written about their loyalty, companionship, intelligence, and humour. (Yes, they do have a sense of humour.)

But more than that, human beings collectively have a strong natural affinity with dogs. People have speculated about why this is. Could be similar family structures. Could be how long we've shared our firesides with them. Domestication of the dog goes back 100,000 years. Me? I think their domestication was a keystone of our humanity. It's thanks to dogs that we have evolved the way we have.

Don't believe me?

When we teamed up with them long long ago to help us hunt food, we no longer needed such complex olfactory systems. We could let our pal Fido take over on that front in an evolutionary sense, allowing us to develop mouths, vocal chords etc. Dogs could well be the reason we have such complex speech, the reason we can tell stories and keep histories. Surely it's this that sets us apart from other animals - and it never would have been possible without dogs.

We owe dogs a debt, even if we don't like them. A debt probably beyond comprehension.

At the same time, we don't deserve them, even if we love them.

People say dogs are man's best friend, but I don't let my best friend sleep in my bed. I don't expect them to shit in my garden either. No, dogs have a unique role in our lives, and "best friend" doesn't even come close.

All that said, most people shouldn't have one, because while dogs are an amazing species, people generally suck. People are all too often ignorant, mean, and lacking in common sense and foresight. There too many dogs. It's probably truer to say that's far too many idiots who went out and got a dog in 2020.

This is my tribute to this noble* species. I give you:

Ten Lessons I've Learned From My Dog

1. Fart generously

2. Always lick the tub

3. Drool is a love language

4. Light up with joy like a Christmas tree when your loved one enters the room. Every time is a sweet reunion, as if you'd been parted for many months. Note: this is regardless of how long you've actually been apart. Even if it was 37 seconds.

5. Walking outside in the fresh air is God. Do it every day, twice if possible. Many problems will arise otherwise.

6. If the prospect of another helping brings you so much joy that you wiggle on the spot, have it.

7. Who needs heroin when you can get your ears rubbed?

8. You can never have too many snuggles.

9. Napping is an Olympic sport. Take it seriously.

10. You can't fit two balls in your mouth, but you can have a lot of fun trying.

+ + + + + + + + + + + +

This was inspired by Angie the Archivist's post, "Live Like a Labrador". (I have a staffie, but most of the principles are the same.)

+ + + + + + + + + + + +

Thank you for reading! If you love dogs, too, tell me what they bring to your life.

If you don't like or value them at all, well, that's OK. You're allowed to be wrong.

+ + + + + + + + + + + +

The "noble" species:

"I want you to draw me like one of your French girls."

listhumanitydog
43

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (36)

Sign in to comment
  • Esala Gunathilakeabout a month ago

    Many lessons. Thank you!

  • Love this!

  • Gina C.3 months ago

    This is such a fun and sweet read! 🤗 I love dogs now - we just got a new puppy about 6 months ago. I finally understand all the hype! 🤗

  • Toby Heward4 months ago

    We certainly owe dogs more that we give them credit for. Same for my own families dog Tank.

  • PJ Watts5 months ago

    This is just absolutely awesome! Best lessons are learnt from our dogs … I have 4! ❤️

  • Kelly Sibley 5 months ago

    Well deserved!

  • Grz Colm5 months ago

    Congrats on your amusing top story! ☺️ 🐶

  • Real Poetic5 months ago

    Ear rubs are the best! Congratulations! 🎉

  • Kenny Penn5 months ago

    I love my dog! Aside from everything you said, she’s great for keeping me warm on a cold night too. Wonderful piece, L.C.!

  • Marie Wilson5 months ago

    Congrats on TS! I love everything about dogs! Thx for the great read.

  • Raymond G. Taylor5 months ago

    Loved it, Made me chuckle from the start. I don't have a dog and wouldn't want one but I like to be around dogs, have worked with dogs which is like playtime all the time, and I am always watching out for wolf-like behaviour which is intriguing. Also, the most popular short-story I have written was a true story about an elderly Staffordshire bull terrier that had been abandoned and so we took it in for the last three months of its life.

  • Test5 months ago

    Beautifully funny. How anyone doesn't like dogs befudles me. I have cats because I have a Hobbit house. One day...one sweet day there will space and time for a dog. Cats won't be happy, but they'll get over it 🤍 Angie's poem was fantastic!

  • Dana Crandell5 months ago

    L.C, this is true, and funny, and absolutely perfect. I've never been without a dog, since I was 5 years old. I've lived with as many as 4 at once and cared for as many as 17 at a a time, when my family owned a bird dog training kennel. At this point in time, Pam and I live with a Shepherd/Staffie and a Mountain Cur and I'd rather hang out with them than a room full of people any day. Congratulations!

  • Rene Peters5 months ago

    My dog is better than my best friend. He keeps me safe when he knows I'm going to have a seizure and he isn't even trained to do that. He's a really good puppy. He keeps me company when I'm lonely and makes me happy when I am really down. Also, I love the humor in this!

  • Lisa5 months ago

    This is the most truest article ever! We don't deserve dogs, and they are so much better than most people will ever be! Thanks for these reminders.

  • Kageno Hoshino5 months ago

    I want a dog too, but My parents don't hate them but they just don't want one for some reason 😭

  • Afolabi Ademola 5 months ago

    Nice one

  • Matthew Fromm5 months ago

    amen, this is great!

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    This is fantastic. I love the humour in this. And yes, dogs are great. I don't have one myself, but I do like them.

  • Paul Stewart5 months ago

    There we go...Top Story for this gem. You go, LC!

  • I do believe you are barking up the right tree here, L.C. The dogs I have known have taught me most of what I know about being a good human being. Though I still fail miserably & have so far to go, they've done their best.

  • Poppy 6 months ago

    I adore this. You’re so right about people not deserving dogs. Words will never be able to describe how valuable they are. Number 7 might be my favourite. Also, who needs heroin when you can give your dog ear rubs? The dopamine boost is mutual. Also loved the “you’re allowed to be wrong part”. Brilliant.

  • Shirley Belk6 months ago

    My brother is the dog person in our family and this reminded me of him soooo much. And your points are all true, too!

  • Addison M6 months ago

    Beautiful. Humorous and wise. Checked all the boxes I like to see . 1. Promotes the awesomeness of dogs! 2. Addresses the inferiority of people verses dogs. 3. Dogs. 4. More dogs.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.