Journal logo

My Office Door is Always Open

About the Author

By Graham CookePublished 3 years ago β€’ 7 min read
15
.

Title and sub-title get your attention?

Okay; good! First things, first. You need to know that should you need to get a hold of me at any particular time, I'm always available. But please, email, message, text or call ahead first. Plus, on that latter, you're best texting me your telephone number because I don't answer unrecognized callers on my phone. You should also know that I may live in a different time zone than yourself.

NOTE: Yes; my office hours have been varying considerably lately. I put it all off to living in this time zone; GMT-7 is Pacific Time, here on the outskirts of Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada. With fall now not quite complete and winter just around the corner, I am feeling like hibernating. I do try to work nights from home for a multitude of reasons - one of which is the darker nights provide greater privacy and less intrusions for my work.

Now, that all being said thus far, here's a brief musical interlude and introduction to myself, and thereafter the greater content that follows explains my background in greater detail.

  • Come and read my story about a man named Gra'm.
  • Once jumped from school to school, always gettin' in a jam.
  • Then one day, he committed a darn, great sin,
  • Turned his life around, to be heard above the din.
  • Voices that is; not clear, nor his own.
  • Well, what did he know, but how to yell or speak'is mind,
  • Then, out of the woodwork came offers of every kind,
  • Decided on one, and another came in.
  • So he jumped at the second, and pulled out his violin.
  • Write'n lyrics, movin fast, settlin' old scores.
  • Gra'm, folks; the comedic lyrist never meant to be.

Ever wondered, "How do I tell someone about myself, without coming across as egotistical or a braggart?" Well, usually humour helps. But maybe the following might depict me more accurately at present, as I attempt to use some originality but borrow from others that have personally interviewed me during job interviews or in a conference (symposium) setting.

Describe myself in one sentence, I once was asked. Okay; here goes.

I am a meticulous, service oriented, very technically inclined, mature (presently single but non-eligible) male, now retired Electrical / Computer / Controls Engineer, with an inherent gift for putting thoughts into writing, discerning possible outcomes, talking to anyone, outlining and following through with any plan; plus, am a well-noted technical instructor, writer and editor in many industries and social circles.

<takes a breath - bows left, center and right>

Then again, if you were to ask one or more very close friends or family to describe me in one sentence and you'll likely hear any of the following:

  • Talks too much;
  • Takes too long getting to the point;
  • Wears his heart on his sleeve;
  • Cold hearted, son-of-a-beach;
  • Doesn't like change too much;
  • Doesn't claim expertise in areas not his own; and,
  • Willing to be proven wrong.

The latter point rarely has been tested.

Oh; but maybe, you were wanting a brief summary of my expertise, work experience and education. Alright'ie then! Let me keep it as short as possible.

  • Service Delivery Solutions
  • Retail Staffing Solutions
  • Quality Control Advisor
  • Technical Writer, Editor, Publisher, Website and Content Manager
  • College and University Instructor
  • Job Placement Coordinator
  • Electrical Engineer - in a multi-reactor nuclear plant of all things
  • Manufacturing (Electrical and Controls) Engineer
  • Divemaster and SCUBA instruction assistant
  • First Aid instructor / trainer - (First Responder, Oxygen, Wilderness)
  • Risk Analyst and Solutions Advisor (extraordinaire)
  • Computer and Controls Systems Designer

NOTE: Those last six items in my "credentials" list? You can bounce them around with each other during and after my undergraduate schooling; well, moreso the last four.

When I first started out into my first Electrical Engineering university undergrad education in 1979, that education and interim work experience before graduation in early 1987, quickly morphed into something I wasn't expecting. But for background on that, I suggest you go read my first Bio entry on Vocal, "Me?," for the detail to be put in proper perspective.

I married late - in my early thirties. Hoped to settle down; blah, blah, blah. You know how it goes. Decided after a few years of marriage I needed to go back to school - grad school - clear across the country. No kids to hold us back as her's were already in college - that's a long story all its own (maybe I'll return to insert a link here if I ever write "that story").

Well, another six years later after entering grad school for a MASc, I "finished." Yes; you read that right! Took me six years (and two weeks) to complete a "d@!#" Masters - and I didn't get it, even though it was all approved, revised, and ready to be submitted for publication. For further detail on this sad finalization, read the Brief titled "MASc? Not !"; please.

  • Well, fair reader, I say adios, au revoir, ciao and farewell.
  • I thank you for reading and not ringin' my target bell.
  • However, any time you havin' problems and need some help,
  • By all means: pm, text, comment or call this here ol' welp.
  • I may not be a David Foster or d'at other, long dead, gone by;
  • But I try, folks. I try! I try!

On a Personal Note:

So, like I said before, I endeavor to use humour to both engage with people. I like to do so with readers, listeners, students or any receptive audience; especially among among friends, family and work associates. To that end - literally - I bid you "g'day."

All of the above italicized words are, if you haven't guess it yet, lyrics I wrote to accompany the music of the Beverly Hillbillies television show theme song. I'm a big fan of certain Fifties, Sixties and Seventies television shows - the good ones.

You should also note from the above, never once did I mention anything else about my previous marriage or what's been going on since. Oops! D@!#, Frac, Dufuq, I done stepped over that line, possibly losing focus, where .... Well, that and "since" are stories all their own.

Till later, dear readers.

Final Note:

Dear reader; if you like my writing, I would sincerely appreciate you letting me know by selecting the Heart icon below. If you would like to leave any tip amount, this requires Vocal membership or having a Stripe account. Note:

The mention of tipping is not meant to influence you.

I never pass up free money.😊

I thank you, if you do.

Since I write in many genres, with different styles, in which my personal experience influences the content, you may be interested in other works of mine, especially here on Vocal. There are three ways of navigating to and (or) retain a list of my Vocal creations:

  • All present works I have written on the Vocal media platform are stored and indexed (by Vocal) in my library, i.e. author page, with my name Graham Cooke attached to it. Select the name in this paragraph or shown at the page bottom after scrolling down to be redirected to my library. No; nothing nefarious will occur when you "click" on the text.
  • Now, if you so wish to return to "my" author page, just bookmark it in your internet web browser.
  • To be kept up-to-date on my newer Vocal creations, instead of manually searching and selecting a browser bookmark for my author page, you can also choose to subscribe. However, subscribing requires being a Vocal member - the next paragraph assists in this regard. By selecting the Subscribe button below, you become subscribed to my Vocal author feed for new creations and have a quick link to my author page for searching previous works which you have not yet read. It does also increase the number of my Vocal member followers and let me know I'm being appreciated for my efforts on Vocal. With that said, I leave the choice of joining Vocal and subscribing to my author feed to you now.
  • NOTE:

    • If you're not already a member - free or paid - of Vocal, maybe you might like to become one. Vocal has many different "communities" where authors, musicians, photographers, videographers, and artists of all genres can get their story told.
    • There are so many topics and fields of interest for all readers, even if you choose to not attempt writing yourself.
    • Quick access to the Vocal sign-up page is obtained by selecting the image below - an Vocal Ambassador referral link.
    • For additional assistance, I can be found most days on any of a number Facebook groups set up by, and for, Vocal members.

    FYI: I don't get a dime for you clicking on the image below, not unless you stay a paid member for a minimum of three months. Just so you know, Vocal is currently - as of October 28, 2021 - offering, a 50% discounted membership at $4.99 per month for 3 months, with a bonus of $10 immediately deposited to the Vocal "PLUS" member's account "wallet." Just so you know, that is USD.

    interview
    15

    About the Creator

    Graham Cooke

    Semi-retired contract technical writer, editor and content developer now writing creatively in the genres of adventure, post-apocalyptic and science fiction, and technical gear reviews.

    Reader insights

    Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

    How does it work?

    Add your insights

    Comments (2)

    Sign in to comment
    • Mother Combs6 months ago

      Thank you for sharingπŸ’š

    • This was really an enjoyable read!!!

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.