Journal logo

Leadership is Patience

The One Requires the Other

By Everyday JunglistPublished 14 days ago 3 min read
1
I don't see patience on there. Image by license from Adobe stock.

Authors note: For purposes of anonymity, and to protect my own ass, the people in the article are referred to as “the leader” or simply “they/them.” In addition I paraphrase throughout and thus chose to not use quotation marks to indicate conversation. The wording may not be exact, but it is close to what was actually said. All in all it makes for an awkward read in places and I apologize for that, but could not think of a better solution.

On a recent business trip I had the very good fortune to spend a large chunk of time with a highly distinguished senior leader in the company for whom I currently work. On the last day of our trip as we drove back to the airport heading home the recent promotion of a colleague became the topic of conversation. This leader remarked on how much of a driver this person was, how aggressive they were in getting things done, how action oriented they were. Indeed, I knew the person well and completely agreed. They were the type that if a task could be completed in a second, they would want it done in a nanosecond, and figure out the best way to make that happen. It was clear the leader felt these were all positive traits and certainly for the role this person was in currently they were.

I thought the discussion had ended, but after a brief pause the leader continued saying that in this persons new role those traits would still be useful, but that it would be interesting to see if this person could temper them. The new role would be as a manager over several other senior leaders many of whom had very different styles and would not react well to the very aggressive posture often taken by their soon to be boss. One of the key’s to effective leadership at the senior levels is patience the leader went on to say. Acting is easy, action is easy, anybody can do it if they are motivated and have the desire, but knowing when not to act, that’s the trick. It requires wisdom and judgement to know when to act but it requires even more of both to instead sit back and simply watch events unfold. What it requires is patience, great patience. As I nodded in agreement the leader continued. Many times I am asked to intervene in some situation, weigh in on some email, or make some decision on something. Of course when it is required I do, but I think very carefully each time before doing anything. Don’t forget that in this company, and I think it is true in many, but probably not all companies, once you act on something, you own it. How much do you really want to own? How much can you handle? How much can you afford?

THE END

Author's postscript: Once again I am forced to append a silly and redundant author's postcript to a completed work in order to meet with Vocal's ridiculou, absurd, and down right stupid, 600 word count minimum requirement. Because of this dumbest of the dumb rules I am forced to waste at least five more minutes of my day sitting here typing out this bullshit when I could be spending my time enjoying the weather, or talking with my wife, or playing with my dogs, or whatever. Anything other than this stupid activity in which I am currently enganged. Just typing whatever the fuck comes into my head in order to pad a perfectly good story's word count. Finally, Freakin done. Six hundred and five.

humanitybusinessadvice
1

About the Creator

Everyday Junglist

Practicing mage of the natural sciences (Ph.D. micro/mol bio), Thought middle manager, Everyday Junglist, Boulderer, Cat lover, No tie shoelace user, Humorist, Argan oil aficionado. Occasional LinkedIn & Facebook user

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 14 days ago

    Very well written! Great job!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.