Humor logo

The Observable Collapse of Screwdriver Probability Fields

The Choice Is Yours...I Think

By Gerard DiLeoPublished 14 days ago 3 min read
6
"Who wrote 'Schrödinger'? And has anyone seen my cat?"

Quantum mechanics is spooky, as Einstein said. Of course, he was talking about quantum entanglement, in which a particle, observed, determines the status of the particle to which it is entangled.

It is so much the quantum world for screwdrivers as well! Trust me, I've proven it. I cite, for example, a recent escapade involving yours truly and a particularly leaky Jacuzzi pipework apparatus. All was well, until...

I really needed to screw back that access panel under the Jacuzzi. I remember the screws had been hand-fed into their holes but needed professional equipment to see them properly home. A Jacuzzi is a sophisticated machine, so certainly access must be via a panel secured with the sophistication of Phillips screws.

You would think. And so I did.

I grab my Phillips screwdriver, sitting so tragically RIGHT NEXT to the flathead screwdriver I leave behind. I walk to the bathroom and stoop the stoop that has traditionally engendered butt-cracks for chuckling and cackling children everywhere. Alas, LO! BEHOLD! The screws are flathead screws!

That's how my screwdriver probability field collapsed. That's how the quantum cookie crumbles.

THE SCIENCE BEHIND THIS QUOTIDIAN MISSTEP OF LIFE:

Quantum mechanics use quantum toolboxes, right?

Once the screw head type was properly observed, the probability field containing vacillating realities of flathead vs Phillips collapsed into the entangled screwdriver in the tool chest, half a house, and many quanta, away into the exact one I needed.

Thus, I observe the screw in the panels, the screwdriver I needed--left behind in the quantumized tool chest--and I was cursed with the wrong one. Probably every time? Probably? Possibly?

Yes, Schrödinger, your cat is dead.

Or is it? [Meows waft in the æther, somewhere.]

I walk back to the tool chest to retrieve the correct screwdriver. There it is, in all its flathead eventuality. As it turns out, we ourselves are also quantumly entangled with the things we observe, because quantum mechanics is merciful. By all rights, once I left the vicinity of the Phillips screwhead entanglement, the screwdriver in the toolbox should have collapsed into a different type of driver. Or at the very least, assumed a quasi-status of both [flathead + Phillips] in simultaneous shimmer, simply awaiting my observation as I reached for it. Thus, I would be damned to a Hell of walking back and forth forever, eternally having the wrong screwdriver.

Why wouldn't you just grab both screwdrivers at the same time? you ask.

Because I'm a guy. The Y-chromosome forbids such foresight. It's the same mutated allele that forces me to skip the directions for putting together children's toys Christmas Eve. Or worse--wait! nevermind--I have GPS now.

So, I should be damned to a Hell of walking back and forth forever, eternally having the wrong screwdriver. But I wasn't.

Why? Because quantum mechanics strives to get along with us. I had the right screwdriver and walk back to the bathroom and, without any more entanglement, righty-tighty the little fellas home.

So quantum mechanics learned. It established a path of least resistance after just one misstep. Quantum theory says,

"Fool me once, shame on me; fool me twice, shame on Einstein."

Translated, you're not crazy, you just picked the wrong screwdriver, you idiot; if you do it again, though, then you are crazy.

I now know the screws in my access panel are just one less thing needed to resolve in my life--thanks to my inescapable partner in life, the ol' probability cloud that grants me a Mulligan to garner an Attaboy! each second time around. On to the next entanglement I go. (Will she or won't she?)

And don't worry about feeding the cat. I think.

Meow.

SatiricalSatire
6

About the Creator

Gerard DiLeo

Retired, not tired. In Life Phase II: Living and writing from a decommissioned church in Hull, MA. (Phase I was New Orleans and everything that entails. Hippocampus, behave!

https://www.amazon.com/Gerard-DiLeo/e/B00JE6LL2W/

[email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran14 days ago

    The Y chromosome forbids such foresight 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 Loved your story!

  • Dana Crandell14 days ago

    What a fun look at quantum mechanics, guydom and the screwdriver paradox. Had it been my project, they would have been torx security screws and that driver set was lost to a parallel universe years ago! I laughed non-stop from the first read of the title, to the image, to theend.

  • Heather Hubler14 days ago

    Hahaha, this was a wonderfully brilliant piece :) I laughed out loud multiple times, especially the allele comment and then the meow. I've still got a smile on my face!

  • John Cox14 days ago

    Damn, Gerard, this is pure comic genius. I chuckled at the premise but the story was a nonstop giggle from beginning to end! Who knew quantum entanglement could be so much fun? Now when I walk half way across the house because I brought the wrong tool for the job, I know what or at the very least who to blame! Meow indeed!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.