Humans logo

Sola Sobowale on Reports of Drug Smuggling, Getting Arrested in Saudi Arabia

Sola speaks out

By Jide OkonjoPublished 17 days ago 3 min read
1

Nigerian actress Sola Sobowale is opening up about some of the worst things that have been written about her, and clearing the air on a number of them. Here's what Sola had to say about washing poo in London, being an eba seller, and also being a drug smuggler and getting amputated in Saudi Arabia. Here's what Sola said about it all.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox, so you don't miss out on any of the hottest things that have happened throughout the week. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

Speaking and clearing the air about stories written about her, Sola Sobowale said:

SOLA SOBOWALE: So many negative things have been written about me and some people ask me Sola, how do you have such tough skin? And my response is that as far as I am at peace with God, then I am good. When I was in UK doing my thing, they wrote a lot of things in Nigerian newspapers: "from grace to grass", that Sola Sobowale lives in London and sells eba in restaurant, that Sola Sobowale is now a cleaner in London, washing poo, cleaning bottom. It was written about me. Still nice, that was still work, because I can make eba so if I go to obodo oyibo and be selling eba, I make my money, it's no problem. If I wash bumbum, it's no problem, I'm making my money.

But the worst lie of all: that Sola Sobowale was killed in Saudi Arabia. Newspapers reported that they killed me in Saudi Arabia. That I carried cocaine. It was written in this Nigeria, that I carried cocaine in Saudi Arabia which got me arrested and there, they amputated my leg and my hands. And that I said to them, "Please I'm a star in Nigeria, because of that, just kill me and be done with it" so they killed me.

So when I got to Nigeria, at the airport, they just went berserk. Like "Ah! They said Sola Sobowale is dead na!" And I said, "do you believe in abracadabra?" They said yes. So I said "I have committed everything back, that's why I'm here" [laughs]. I said, "look, I'm alive." I have never been to Saudi Arabia before. I don't even know where Saudi Arabia is on the map. So how would I get there, or how will they kill me there? There have been so many negative things written about me but to God be the glory, God has compensated me beautifully.

Nawa o! People really just write any and everything sometimes. Nawa oh. What do you think about what Sola Sobowale had to say? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to subscribe to my newsletter if you don’t already for more stories like this - collated every week and sent right to your inbox so you don't miss out on anything.

Btw, in addition to blogging, I also make money through Whatsapp Status Sessions. If you also want to earn money through status sessions, I've created a complete guide to help you get started so we can all eat! Download it here.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
1

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.