Humans logo

I hope you find your peace

Praying

By Raine fielderPublished 14 days ago 2 min read
Like
I hope you find your peace
Photo by Marek Piwnicki on Unsplash

I remember the year Kesha put out her first song after she was free of her abuser... I personally was just coming to terms with my own rape... I knew she was putting out a song about her own... I couldn't wait, it was going to be my anthem, it was going to destroy that man, it was going to be angry and full of hate and venom and justice and then it came out... it was the song "praying"

the lyrics to her own rapist and abuser were: "I hope you're somewhere praying, praying, I hope your soul is changing, changing, I hope you find your peace, fallen on your knees"

No song as hit me so hard in such a real way, it was exactly what I NEEDED, though it was nothing that I thought I wanted, it was God working through her for me and I'm positive most victims...

and then I saw the video, which was great, emotional, and artistic...

and the comments... the comments were people pointing out that there was a colorful bird and that is secretly a symbol for illuminati or some crap like that...

so many comments about how EVIL this woman was... because of little "symbols" and stupidity like that...

this beautiful song about forgiving the worst person who did the worst thing to you... about wanting that person to find God, these people were calling good evil... these types people do this a LOT and it is them who claim to have the moral high ground... all they do is make up little "signs" that people they don't like are evil because it's almost like a game to them... and I wonder why are you searching so hard for evil anywhere you can? do you like seeing it that much?? do you love evil so much that you want to see it everywhere? Or are you just wanting to justify your own hatred of anything that's not about you and your own "tribe"... you don't have to like Kesha's music or Taylor swift or whoever but trying to call anything and everyone on earth that isn't on your political "team" or who doesn't make music you like, or even people you don't get along with EVIL, you're wrong, God loves Kesha, Taylor Swift, rock bands, antifa, people who support Black lives matter... whoever you want to pretend is evil because they disagree with you personally... you're just wrong... and you're misleading a lot of people... no one is making you listen to Kesha's music, no one is calling her a saint... but you're trying to gatekeep a faith that has no boundaries... God has used anything and everything to reach people in His way, when I was a teenager I didn't listen to gospel music... I didn't go to church but DMX who cussed worse than a sailor would pray for ten minutes at the beginning of his albums and I LOVED it, he meant it, he wasn't perfect by a long shot but it got to me and it was real... don't deny people access to God's hand in the darkest places or wherever they are because He's not afraid to go there to reach them... and most of the time they aren't even dark places, they just aren't "wholesome" or "pleasant" because reality isn't those things either

pop culturehumanitycelebritiesartadvice
Like

About the Creator

Raine fielder

Raine has been writing poetry since she was in seventh grade. She has written several poems, song lyrics, short stories and five books. Writing is her main purpose.

https://linktr.ee/RaineFielder

I will NEVER use AI for anything I create.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.