Humans logo

EXCUSE ME

excuse you

By Margaret BrennanPublished 3 months ago 4 min read
3

EXCUSE ME?

Excuse YOU.

/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\

\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/

I’m sure many of us do the same thing.

When someone bump into us, WE are the ones to say, “Oh, sorry, excuse me.”

Why?

We belong to a generation of people who were taught manners, and yet somewhere along the way, we either forgot to teach our children those manners or perhaps they just got a bit lazy to replicate them and then, we witness the domino effect.

There are also those who have become so busy that manners have been pushed aside.

Scenario: someone holds a door open for us, we automatically say, “thank you” without thinking about it.

We hold the door open for those approaching the same door that we just passed through.

Common curtesy? Perhaps. But we do this without a second thought. At least most of us do. Yet, there are others ... !

I don’t know about you, but I’ve gotten a bit tired of always being the polite one. I’m tired of saying excuse to me a brick wall that just plowed into me or the invisibility of my body to those who close doors in my face. (Yes, they don’t see me directly behind them. Maybe if they just looked!)

Whie my new behavior might raise a few eyebrows, at least, until it raises tempers, I’m going to have a bit of fun with it.

In the supermarket, a woman, clearly in more of a hurry than I was (neither of us had those big clumsy carts), bumped into me. Maybe I should say, CRASHED into me as she rounded the end of an aisle display. She never even acknowledged what she did. And before you ask, the answer is no, I could not have moved out of her way. Reason one: I had no time to move (yes, she was walking that fast). Reason two: I had no room to move anywhere.

I will admit that the “collision” wasn’t intentional, but she could have said, “Sorry,” as she raced by. She didn’t. That’s when my sarcasm kicked in. I said, “Oops, your bad! Excuse you.” That’s when she stopped in her tracks, turned, and looked at me with total confusion which quickly turned to a heated glare. I smiled, shrugged my shoulders, and moved on. While I had the satisfaction of continuing my shopping, unhurried, I knew, for at least a few seconds, her shopping was interrupted while she wondered what the heck just happened.

No harsh words were spoken, and I had the satisfaction of being completely amused.

I’m not an exercise enthusiast, but I own a membership to our local Y because that’s where my dance and Zumba classes are held. My instructors are fantastic and make these classes thoroughly enjoyable. Dance is currently one day per week and Zumba, for me anyway, is two. At this time, since I’m still working, I don’t have the time I’d like to devote to a more rigorous exercise regimen. I do what I can.

Why am I mentioning this? Another bit of my warped humor.

My Zumba class was finished for the day, and I headed toward the door at the same time as one of our male members. Reaching the door before me, he opened it, stepped out, and wham! The door shut right in my face. I opened the door and loud enough for him to hear, “Wow, thank you for not holding the door.” He turned, looked at me, never apologized, turned again, and resumed his trek to his car.

I, on the other hand, saw a woman approaching the door to begin whatever workout she planned. And yes, I held the door for her. She smiled, thanked me, and said, “Have a great day.”

Not all people are rude. I’ve encountered some very nice, polite men and women but the rudeness of others is really mind-boggling.

Just yesterday, I was in the supermarket to pick up a few things for dinner. Turning down one aisle, I saw THREE workers. Okay, three employees. One worked while the other two stood talking to him. As I approached to remove off the shelf what I needed, not one of them moved.

I stood there for about two minutes and finally said, “Thank you for not moving. Guess two of you have nothing to do, huh?”

They scattered quickly hoping I wouldn’t say anything to the manager. I didn’t but my point was made and as I walked away, I shook my head and laughed thinking I probably had them worrying about their future in the store.

I could go on with other incidents but why bother? You know what I’m talking about as I’m sure you have also encountered the same situations.

What happened to common curtesy? Manners? Am I the one who’s being rude? Yes, I know for sure that I’m being sarcastic but at least I’m polite about it.

Look, I know I’m not out to educate the masses. Don’t have the time or energy. But, for heaven’s sake, is it too much to ask to hold a door, or say excuse me?

It just might be for too many people. They’re happy with their inconsiderate ignorance.

And while they’re happy being what and who they are, I might as well use my sarcasm and have a bit of fun with it. Heck of a lot better than getting angry.

Well, it’s that time, once again. Time to stop my ranting and make a pot of tea for hubby and me.

Thanks for reading and hopefully, I’ve given you a bit of a chuckle (as well as something to think about.)

humanity
3

About the Creator

Margaret Brennan

I am a 77-year old grandmother who loves to write, fish, and grab my camera to capture the beautiful scenery I see around me.

My husband and I found our paradise in Punta Gorda Florida where the weather always keeps us guessing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk3 months ago

    I hope all my grandchildren will always have good manners. And I commend you for calling out poor manners!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.