Geeks logo

Who in the Stars are they?

Why foreign films are such fun to watch

By Pam ReederPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
3
Who in the Stars are they?
Photo by Aneta Pawlik on Unsplash

As odd as it may sound, I LOVE watching foreign films even though I don't know any other language but English. I happily read the subtitles. If I miss something or get behind on reading, because I am streaming, I can readily stop the film and read up.

I have no idea who the big stars are in foreign countries, so they can't seduce me to view the film just by poking star credits at me. I am oblivious as to who is who in another country. So, they have to sell me on the plot. I have to be intrigued by the blurb offered up on Netflix to entice me to click through to watch it.

Another thing that makes foreign films feel more genuine is that the people are not plasticized Hollywood people. They look like regular people that I might see anywhere I go. The people look and feel like the parts they play. They have crooked teeth, unplucked brows, non-designer clothing. Or perhaps the clothing is designer but because it takes place in a foreign country, I am totally unfamiliar with the styles and fashions. And to be honest, beautiful people and beautiful clothing is not why I'm watching a film to begin with. [I do hope that did not come across horribly -- I promise it is intended to be very complimentary. The people look like they are OF the people, believable by us ordinary people. Not some unachievable sculpted Hollywood look.]

As a writer, I am plot-driven. A movie that compels me to click "play" has tackled its first hurdle of intriguing me enough to consider it worthy of a peek. The first five minutes better prove to me that my click was worth the effort. A fatal flaw for me is to throw sex into the first fifteen to twenty minutes. If the blurb would have indicated it was going to be filled with sex, then I would never have clicked it in the first place. I've been called a prude because of this stance but I'm not a voyeur. If I want sex, I'll go get sex. But when I want to watch a movie, then I want a genuine plot-driven movie. And ninety percent of the time, a foreign film fulfills my desire for a genuine storyline. It seems that American films rely too heavily on throwing scenes of some high-profile actress showing her boobs or some high-profile actor flashing his arse. To me, throwing in gratuitous sex is a cheap shot at filling the movie when the plotline is weak. Some people enjoy the eye candy proffered. But me, I want a plot-driven story.

I also am not big on "action" films because they rely too heavily on chase scenes and destroying things. That isn't really a storyline -- that is just stunts and special effects. I will tolerate a little bit of this but not through out the entire film.

And I love seeing the lifestyles, neighborhoods, and customs portrayed in foreign films that I would not otherwise be exposed to. It's like an entertaining immersion into a different country and culture.

So there you have it, I love foreign films because they draw me in with intriguing plots, have believable every day looking characters, cultural immersion, and more story than sex or smashing things.

I suppose the great movies I've found on Netflix could perhaps be Netflix offering me new choices based on what I have previously watched. Even so, if you aren't watching foreign films, you are really missing out.

A few of my recent foreign film Netflix favorites:

  • Gone for Good
  • Two Summers
  • Hold Tight

Share with me what your favorite foreign films are.

entertainment
3

About the Creator

Pam Reeder

Stifled wordsmith re-embracing my creativity. I like to write stories that tap into raw human emotions.

Author of "Bristow Spirits on Route 66", magazine articles, four books under a pen name, technical writing, stories for my grandkids.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydred2 years ago

    I know so many people who wont watch black and white or subtitled films. I am not a fan of dubbed, prefer subtitles. Excellent work Pam.

  • Russell Ormsby 2 years ago

    Hi Pam I like watching foreign films also and totally agree with your analyst. Yes the rawness displayed goes a long way into understanding the lifestyles of these foreign countries and putting the viewer into the shoes of the characters. My only hang up with them though. Is that I find a lot don't seem to know how to wind a story up and just finish? This is a well written piece where you made some good points. Nice job and best wishes my friend.👍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.