Geeks logo

My Claustrophobic Day As an Extra On SHETLAND

A Fun Filming Day on The Popular BBC Drama

By Matt LoftusPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
5
I'm The Sardine On The Left!

Lights, Camera, Action!! I love hearing those words (or something similar) on a film/TV production. Considering I work a 'normal' job like everyone else, getting to put on a costume and play around in a fictional world is extremely appealing to me. Imagine my delight when I was in a wet suit and found myself climbing into a decompression chamber for my latest shoot. This was for episode one of the popular detective drama Shetland and I have to say it was a total blast. So take a deep breath and dive into my day on set, if you dare!

Confined Spaces!

So with Covid restrictions for the last two years (God it feels like longer) I actually never thought I'd get back on a film set anytime soon. Luckily the industry's managed to get back on their collective feet with a mixture of PPE and daily testing for all cast and members of the crew. So having to have swabs stuck up your nose has become the norm for most workers anyway so it's not really a big deal. Masks have to be worn at all times and quite frankly I'm happy to comply if it reduces the chance of infection.

Movie Caravans In Aberdeen!

So the job synopsis was simple, meet at the location in Aberdeen, bring an array of clothes for various scenes and presumably walk around in the background. Unbeknownst to me it wouldn't be a typical job and we'd actually be filming inside of a chamber meant for divers recovering from the bends. I don't have any problems with confined spaces luckily but I wasn't informed ahead of time. Strangely the only other extra on the day, Jack, was asked if he was ok with enclosed spaces. We had a good laugh about it and it wasn't an issue for me.

The Giant decompression chamber was a sight to behold in itself and I wondered how it would look onscreen. Part of the excitment of getting on set is seeing where you'll be shooting and its easily the best set I've been on so far.

A Real Impressive Set

Climbing in and out of these strange chambers was something like being on Star Trek, at least I thought so. We'd be led back to set from our 'holding area' and you had to grab onto the bar above the circular openings to get inside. I caught my head a couple of times as I swung my legs inside but I'm sure no one noticed (yeah right). Not the best way to see stars on a film set I can tell you.

Once inside it seemed like a really small producion as it was just myself, Jack and main actor Thoren Ferguson. However, the amount of people on set surrounding the chamber was quite staggering and I was surprised everytime we emerged back out to the crowds. Most stood off to the sides or around monitors. Thats another thing Covid has made you think twice about, crowds. Saying that the area was well ventilated and with all the new precautions on set I felt safer than at my day job.

I'm HOT Guy No1

The first shot of the day had the three of us sat inside a tiny little chamber in full wet suits. They had a GoPro camera mounted on the wall above one of the openings and the main camera was on a dolly just inside the entrance. We waited quite a bit for the shots to be set up and chatted about the day. This was another surprise as most film sets keep the main 'talent' away from the background artists. I guess since we were quite literally going to be in close quarters all day they were happy to have us speak freely. I love a good natter anyway so this was great and we got carried away with discussing documentaries on Netflix before a voice said rolling. Oh yeah, we were on a film set.

Another sequence inside the main chamber had myself and Jack on different bunk beds whilst Thoren sat at a table. I had a prop crossword book that I began to have a go at. Before long all three of us were trying to figure out the cryptic combinations and complete it. Sadly we never did, that's what happens when work comes first I guess. My only complaint was when I got up too fast and walloped my head on the bunk above. Luckily I wasn't cancelled by the industry when I uttered a very loud swear word during the pre-checks. Ouch!

I look slightly suspicious or fed-up in my close-up

I even got a few words of approval from the director on the day as, during one scene, I was meant to look over at Thoren after he receives a threatening note. We locked eyes and did the usual two or three takes to get what they wanted. The director spoke over the internal tannoy (or walkie-talkie) and said "well done Matt that was great". Nice to know you're appreciated on the job, especially when you're a glorified moveable prop. Not exactly academy award stuff but good fun either way.

Thats A Wrap!

Overall I had a really fun experience being on the Shetland production and so did the other background extra Jack, who I've stayed in touch with. Sure it was a standard twelve hour day (plus travel) and there was some waiting around between actually being on set but I wouldn't miss it for the world. I'm just hoping I'll get the call for another film role soon but you never know. I'll be back with at least one more story about my day on a certain Birmingham-gang-set period drama, but I can't say anymore until it airs next year.

Watch my fun little vid below for a quick rundown of how to be an extra if you're considering getting into it for yourself.

Hope you enjoyed my article about my day on Shetland, please leave a HEART if you enjoyed this article. I'll be back with at least one more story about my day on a certain Birmingham-gang-set period drama, but I can't say anymore until it airs next year.

tv
5

About the Creator

Matt Loftus

Horror-obsessed writer and Filmmaker

Read my ramblings here and see my short films on YouTube:MattLoftus85

My TikTok @mattloftus85

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.