FYI logo

Replies On Vocal Comments

Observations On Our Vocal Interactions With Other Vocal Creators

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
13

Introduction

This is a follow on to a previous story that I created on Vocal Comments which you can examine here:

This piece is about what happens when we reply to comments on our pieces, and what happens when creators reply to our comments on their pieces.

So What Does Happen, What Do We Want To Happen, And What Should Happen?

Comments on Vocal stories stay with the story, unlike the ones on Facebook, but the ones on Facebook can tempt others into reading the story so both comment types have their benefits for the creator.

One of the problems is that Vocal flood notifications with unnecessary publication information when publication information is duplicated in two forms on your subscription feed. For me, this means I don't usually see when people have commented on my stories or when they replay to my comments on their stories, but on Facebook, I get notifications on comments, so I copy the comment I make on the Vocal story and where possible I paste the copy on the Facebook shared post.

One of the problems is that when you paste an involved comment (ie more than a "Great Story" or "❤️") as often as not the reply is just a "Thank You" or similar and sometimes we assume that is what the reply will be. That may mean that we miss replies which may be helpful to us and even enhance our stories, but we cannot see what the reply says until we open it on the Vocal Story while usually we can see them on Facebook.

Some comments I have received could often be a Vocal Story in their own right and I always try and respond in kind though I am fairly laconic, I believe an insightful comment deserves and involved reply, but the Creator I am replying to may never see the comment that is my reply to their initial piece.

There is nothing wrong with a "Thank You" or "❤️" but that may never be seen by the Creator, but I am not sure what the answer is to that (though removing publications from Vocal Notifications would be a great help but we no that will never happen despite a filter being mooted two years ago.

I can only just go to stories and check at random, or check if they are shared and commented on in the Facebook Groups, which is not ideal.

I love receiving comments, but there are users who just repeat the same comment on every story, which means that they have probably not read the story, then there are some that you feel are generated by AI, while others give me a lift with their insights and supportive words.

Comments don't have to be long, sometimes some creators can show that they have completely taken in your point in just a few words.

One of the biggest benefits of Vocal Cooments is that you know the commenter has read your story and you have their name, but you wont necessarily see the notification on Vocal as it will be pushed out by publication notifications, but if you go into you story you WILL see it.

Conclusion

Replies to comments help build up a story, especially if the initial comment raises a question for the original creator. The thing is the original commenter may not see the notification that they have been replied to. Sometimes there are email notifications but that does not always work.

Conversations that result from comments can be helpful and enhance or Vocal experiences as readers and writers.

Thank you so much for reading, and I would love to hear your thoughts on this.

Vocal
13

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 months ago

    I don't want new publications removed from the notifications. But having a filter for the notifications would benefit everyone. We can choose what we want and don't want to see in our notifications

  • I actually like getting notifications about new publications from people I follow along with notices of comments & replies. I like to read & respond to all three & it keeps them in one place for me.

  • Babs Iverson2 months ago

    New publications are on our subscriptions. Why the redundancy of including on notifications beats me. Other platforms have notifications that can be deleted.. Numerous times, I have asked for that option. Only to be informed that it is on the road map. Excellrnt article!!! The squeaky wheel gets the grease!! Keep on hammering!!!

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    Yeah, they really should remove new publications from your subscription list from the notifications. Sometimes I miss comments on my stories, because I have so many notifications, but most are just "this one published a new story" blah, blah. I try not to missed anyone who has responded to me, but sometimes it's just too much. I know Vocal has been asked numerous times to remove new stories from notifications, but it seems they have no intention of doing so.

  • Anna 2 months ago

    Agreed! I try to read as much as I can whether it's poem, fiction or something else, and give my feedback to the creator! And I also know how good it feels to recieve some positive words for your work😊 Because we write to make others smile and inspired don't we?🫶❤️

  • Test2 months ago

    I agree. peeps just copy pasting is a bit disheartenng really. Like if I get a comment notification and its super vague, I just feel kinds sad. A filter on publications would be very helpful though!

  • Mother Combs2 months ago

    That's one reason I wanted my email notifications for comments back. Plus no one can delete those

  • “M”2 months ago

    Thank you very much for this explanation ♡

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.