Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Whale Song

A Story Every Day in 2024 May 4th 125/366 and a response to Belle's Inside the Animal's Mind [an unofficial challenge]

By Rachel DeemingPublished 16 days ago 2 min read
18
Whale Song
Photo by Gabriel Dizzi on Unsplash

This story comes with a Dharrsheena warning

I hear them coming. It is just the two of us and a vast expanse of deep water. They are powering their way towards us and I am fearful but resolute.

I was hoping it would be longer. I was hoping he would be stronger. I was hoping he could move faster. But it is not to be.

The water tells me they are coming and they are eager, excited, penetrating the blue like sharpened arrows, honing in on us like missiles as we swim away from whence they come.

He stays close to me, sheltering in my bulk. Then, they are here.

Black. White. Agile. Keen.

A predation team.

My little one is scared and so am I. We must swim! Swim! Away! My desperation makes me move and him with me, his fear driving him to propel his body as fast as he can. He does not comprehend what is happening, only that there is danger.

Stay with me, I urge. Stay close.

They dart, manoeuvring and regrouping and driving us on. They are unrelenting, persistent. They love to play! This is a ruthless game, Nature's cruel pursuit.

I cannot keep track and I am tiring and so is he. Come on, little one! But I know how this will end. I am just one whale, just one mother, against a gang intent on death. How can I win? A well-placed blow will help but they are fast, they are strong and they are determined to eat. They do not view me with fear although they know I will fight. No, they are confident in their ability to take and that is what they will do today.

I thrash, I slap, using my tail to hurt. I will not give in! I am a mighty beast, a titan of the ocean! But I am nothing now despite my strength and my presence. I feel my unwieldiness as they dip and turn, nipping and threatening, as they cut their way to my own.

We have fled as Nature has taught us but it is not enough.

I am not enough.

I no longer feel you at my side.

Alone.

The ocean absorbs my grief-filled lament.

***

366 words

I'm enjoying these challenges of putting myself into the mind of creatures. When I say enjoying them, I mean the writing of them, not necessarily what they depict. This one in particular made me sad when I reread it. Imagining this from a human perspective would be some new kind of harrowing, wouldn't it?

This was an entry for Belle's challenge which you can find out more about here:

I have written two other entries for this. The first:

My second:

Thanks for stopping by! If you do read this, please leave a comment as I love to interact with my readers.

125/366

Stream of ConsciousnessthrillerPsychologicalMicrofictionLoveHorrorfamilyCONTENT WARNING
18

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • D.K. Shepard14 days ago

    This mother whale voice was so compellingly done! Very impressive, Rachel! The title and the last line were very well (I apologize in advance) orca-strated bookends for this great micro!

  • So sad for valiant mama whale & baby... how I hate death! Excellent story.

  • Caroline Craven16 days ago

    Oh. Gosh. This was heartbreaking. Your stories are excellent. You could make a collection of these Rudyard Kipling style. You have so much talent.

  • Belle16 days ago

    Beautiful... It's an incredible story of grief that fortunately we will never have to experience, where death is a part of life, the survival of the fittest. Beautifully written. Thank you so much for your entries to the challenge, Rachel!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)16 days ago

    Fucking orcas... people love them but they can be soooo cruel! This story pulled at my heartstrings in sadness, as we all knew what was about to happen! Great work and so well written! As soon as I saw the Dharrsheena warning I had a feeling this was going to be tragic!!

  • Christy Munson16 days ago

    Loved your story. When I was attending university, I had a film class. During the first class, the first hand raised changed everything about how I saw perspective being created. The person asked with the movie Jaws in mind, "Why would we care about what the shark's thinking?" Why indeed! Thank you for bringing this unofficial challenge to my attention. Might have to give it a go. I love animals!

  • Mark Gagnon16 days ago

    I think you've found your lane with these animal stories. That's not to say your others aren't great, but these seem to have a natural flow to them.

  • Shirley Belk16 days ago

    I agree with John. And we, humans....we think we have it bad!

  • You are amazing I absolutely love and appreciate your writing abilities!!

  • Gerard DiLeo16 days ago

    The cetacean brain! From pathos to quadratic equations--it's not much of a jump. What was Dharrsheena's warning?

  • Gabriel Huizenga16 days ago

    So, so sad. Beautifully evoked, Rachel!

  • John Cox16 days ago

    You have captured a truth that so many choose not to believe. Animals grieve too.

  • Great but sad story , I will add the challenge to the VSS Unofficial Challenge thread. Thank you for this

  • Hannah Moore16 days ago

    That is not hospital waiting room reading! Should have heeded the warning!

  • Gosh I have no idea how to repay you for your kindness 🥺❤️ Thank you so much for that warning, I appreciate that from the bottom of my heart 🥺❤️ As always, I've scrolled down slowly so that it registers as a read.

  • D. J. Reddall16 days ago

    Cetaceans are fascinating creatures, and you made this one especially sympathetic. Deftly done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.