Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Waiting for the Ice

A Story Every Day in 2024 May 2nd 123/366 and a response to Belle's Inside the Animal's Mind [an unofficial challenge]

By Rachel DeemingPublished 19 days ago 2 min read
16
Waiting for the Ice
Photo by Jonatan Pie on Unsplash

This story comes with a Dharrsheena warning

I sit and I wait.

White bear is with me. He sits and waits too. He is hungry like me. I keep my distance as he would tear me apart in a heartbeat, crush me in his jaws like the furry meat morsel I am to him. Sometimes, I forget and he moves and I dash away, using what little energy I have left.

I need to remember. I want to survive.

We wait for the great white ice to approach. The water is undulating, roiling and grey. It is cold but it is not cold enough. The platforms have not formed over which we can traverse, to roam, to feed. Where are they? They should be here. I know that white bear thinks the same. He is restless too. The time grows longer. I tire of waiting. The wind ruffles my white coat, my protection from the elements and the predators, that allows me to scurry and scavenge in the starkness of white. I curl up, a cluster of creature, my fur rippling in the arctic swirls.

Conserving.

Because there is nothing here to eat. Nothing.

Please bring the ice. Bring the ice to us.

There are more of me here. I recognise their scent. We all wait. All restless. Something is wrong. White bear knows it too. My fur hides my ribs.

I scent the cold. But still the sea crashes instead of creaking. I seek in the seaweed for living things hidden there. Salty. Small.

There are more like me here. I sniff the air and something is different today. It is not ice encroaching. It is death. It is meat. The air is the purveyor of possible nourishment, tantalising me with the rot it has lifted and carries, the smell of life gone and its vessel's inevitable deterioration. It is a smell that I must chase.

I am starving.

I find it, the white fur in the snow. It is this I can smell. I must be quick. I need to tear until I find the red. And I need to feast before the others come. Because the red exposed will bring more and the fight will begin.

The fight for flesh.

***

366 words

This was written in response to the following challenge from Belle:

This is my second attempt for this challenge and was inspired by a nature documentary which showed the plight of creatures reliant on the polar north which is rapidly getting warmer. Warmer means a thaw; a thaw means no ice. For Arctic animals, this is enormously significant and not to put too fine a point on it, life-threatening. In the documentary, the cute little furball that is the Arctic fox was reduced to cannibalism to survive. Such was my horror at such a thing that I was inspired to write a story about it and it happily coincided with Belle's challenge. Thank you, Belle.

My first attempt was this:

And a previous unrelated attempt was this, which is much more light-hearted:

Thanks for stopping by! If you do read this, please do leave a comment as I love to interact with my readers.

123/366

Stream of ConsciousnessShort StoryPsychologicalMicrofictionHorrorFableCONTENT WARNING
16

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶15 days ago

    Beautifully written... the poor starving darlings.

  • Shirley Belk16 days ago

    My heart is breaking....adaptation and survival

  • D.K. Shepard17 days ago

    Was really struck by thr description of setting and the desperation of the arctic fox. His pleading for ice was heartbreaking

  • Well-wrought! I tend to think of the Polar Bear as my spirit animal, because they are intrisically good creatures who've had to struggle with a habitat lacking in abundance, much like the inner city, where human animals also often fight over leftovers and learn to keep their finds to themselves...

  • Caroline Craven18 days ago

    Oh god. This was so sad. There’s something about animals (and kids) suffering that makes my heart hurt. Your writing is excellent as ever.

  • G. A. Botero18 days ago

    heartbreaking

  • Belle18 days ago

    Amazing! Beautifully written as always, Rachel! Thank you for your entry!

  • Mark Gagnon18 days ago

    I'd keep my distance from the big white furry beast as well. I liked how you brought climate change and its effects into your story. Well done!

  • John Cox18 days ago

    Another great story, Rachel! It really brings the plight of these poor animals to life.

  • Andy Potts18 days ago

    Another belter. Always cheers me up when I see one of your notifications.

  • D. J. Reddall18 days ago

    Your aptitude for trying on the fur of the predator is remarkable; I pity any squirrel who earns your ire.

  • Very well written! Was this from the bears perspective? I liked’!

  • I'm so SO grateful for that warning! Thank you so much as always for that! 🥺❤️ I've scrolled down slowly so that it registers as a read.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.