Fiction logo

Roses

In the centre of the clearing was a sight so gruesome that it did not make sense.

By Carly BushPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
4

In the centre of the clearing was a sight so gruesome that it did not make sense. The body of a young girl in a black coat, long hair curled around her. Sweet, warm blood pooling sickeningly bright in the snow.

On her head was a tiny crown of roses. She was probably naked beneath the heavy peacoat; her pale, bare legs were unnaturally blue. The wind lifted a strand of her delicate hair. She was motionless.

So unreal was the sight that I wanted to discount it, to explain it away as a hallucination.

My mother had hallucinated, occasionally. She had had fits of psychosis when I was very young, believing that demons disguised themselves as angels and angels disguised themselves as bag ladies on the bus.

I attempted to breathe through the unsteadying waves of dizziness. The smooth muscle in my stomach contracted. Maybe I was losing my mind. Hopefully I was losing my mind. These things were hereditary, after all. I had learned as much in school.

But the evidence remained, the image never shifting. The blood was so red. It was still seeping so slowly. The roses had yet to wilt. The girl—I could not think of her as a corpse—was upside down, her face pressed like a crushed flower into the snow. The wooden end of a knife stood at the top of her cervical spine, buried in her brainstem.

I turned calmly and vomited into the brambles.

PsychologicalMysteryMicrofictionHorrorCONTENT WARNING
4

About the Creator

Carly Bush

I'm a writer with a passion for highly visual and quietly subversive literature. I contribute to Collective World and you can find my short stories and poetry here.

Connect with me on Instagram and TikTok: @carlyaugustabush

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Flamance @ lit.24 days ago

    Awesome story I like it congratulations 🎉🎉

  • Mackenzie Davis4 months ago

    I like how there's an uncertainty that the narrator is actually seeing what's before her/him. You're playing with the idea of an unreliable narrator/narrative here, and it's awesome! I get the feeling that it's not about the corpse, but about the choice that the MC makes, or will make: to believe that it's real and call the police, or (more likely) assume it's an hallucination and walk away.

  • Kendall Defoe 4 months ago

    The start of a longer mystery?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.