Fiction logo

One Minute Prayer

A dying man’s last declaration

By Joe PattersonPublished 22 days ago 3 min read
9
One Minute Prayer
Photo by Zac Durant on Unsplash

Aaron Moses is laying in bed in his family home surrounded by friends and family. He has been sick for some time now and death is not far. As his family of children, grandchildren, siblings, friends and of course his wife surround him there are mixed emotions in the air. Some are of sadness that he has reached his final day. Others are of peace that he will have to suffer no longer. Some of his loved ones are even happy under the spirit of appreciation for all the amazing years that they have shared with him and now he is off to a better place.

As Aaron’s lies in a peaceful state he can feel his final moments closing in. He knows he has but a mere minute left of life, he can can feel it in his spirit. He has a slight hint of fear as he feels himself passing away because he is uncertain about what the future holds as he leaves his family behind. He loves them all dearly and wants to make sure that all will be well for them in his absence. While glancing around at all of his loved ones he has only one thing left that he wants to do: say a prayer for everyone he will be leaving behind. With his loved ones all splintered off in mixed conversations Aaron puts his hands together, closes his eyes and uses what he knows is his final minute to say one last prayer. The time was 11:59 p.m.

Heavenly Father, Lord God, I pray that you watch over my family and friends as I depart this life to join you. The first thought that comes to mind for Aaron is his oldest son Jacob and his wife Miriam. I pray that Jacob and Miriam will be delivered from their fear of my granddaughter Olivia going off to college and out into the world and that they will remember how they are both amazing parents who raised her right.

The thought of Aaron’s younger daughter came next in his prayer. Lord I pray that my daughter Rebecca and her husband Isaiah will be blessed and equipped with the wisdom, knowledge and understanding that they will need to properly take care of my grandson Elijah and his autism. I pray that my siblings will persevere through their trials of life and that they will continue to know how amazing they are. I pray that my best friends will know how much I love them and appreciate them for all they have been to me.

Lord I pray that my wife will remember that I love her more than she could ever understand. I pray that she knows that she is the best choice I have ever made and that she is the amazing rock that has kept our big family together, in Jesus name I pray, believe and declare it all, Amen. With that final sentiment, all the fear that Aaron previously felt had faded away. His eyes were still closed, yet he felt like they had never been more open before in his life. He felt it in his spirit that his family was going to be fine, the time was now 12:00 a.m.

Aaron suddenly opened his eyes and found that he was no longer lying down in his bed but standing in a beautiful valley with the sun setting over him. Aaron also felt a blissful peace in his heart, it was overwhelmingly beautiful, unlike anything he had ever felt before. This was it, Aaron knew he had passed away. In front of him he was given a glimpse of his family still surrounding his lifeless body. They were unaware that he had now passed on, but they were all very joyful while interacting with each other. This brought Aaron unimaginable peace. He knew his prayer had been answered.

As the the sunset in front of him began to rise Aaron walked closer to the light, happy that it was taking him home.

Short StoryLovefamily
9

About the Creator

Joe Patterson

Hi I'm Joe Patterson. I am a writer at heart who is a big geek for film, music, and literature, which have all inspired me to be a writer. I rap, write stories both short and long, and I'm also aspiring to be an author and a filmmaker.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶17 days ago

    This is a wonderful story for the 60 second challenge. ‘ His eyes were still closed, yet he felt like they had never been more open before in his life.’ Beautiful answer to prayer and conclusion.😊

  • Teresa Renton20 days ago

    What a wonderful sense of peace you’ve evoked here Joe. You’ve made a sad event beautifully positive 🥰

  • Tiffany Gordon 22 days ago

    gorgeous work Joe! This is a masterpiece and one of my all-time favorites! BRAVO! 👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾

  • Christy Munson22 days ago

    Your story brings a lot of emotion, Joe.

  • So moving and precious, Joe. Thank you for this.

  • Margaret Brennan22 days ago

    That is truly so beautiful. Thank you for sharing this.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.