Fiction logo

Me and girl 2

_

By Imam NrzkyPublished 14 days ago 3 min read
Like

Second page

Near the plastic goods shop where we were staying, there was a tea shop which was not busy enough. This is normal because in this city tea shops are one of the destinations for night lovers.

“How about we go over there, to the tea shop next to this shop? "Maybe a glass of English tea can accompany us while we wait for the rain to stop," I called, taking the girl to the tea shop next to the shop where we were taking shelter.

“Hm?” said the girl while bringing her ear to my lips asking for repetition

"Come to the tea shop next to this shop, I heard there is a new type of tea which is now people's favorite drink," my voice became higher. I didn't mean to scold him, it's just that the sound of the rain was so loud. His voice shrank.

"Yes," answered the girl in agreement.

The girl walked in front of me. I followed behind him. Her wet shiny hair looked very beautiful. The velvet tote bag was now on her left shoulder. Our steps together looked for a dry place that was not flooded with water. Before we knew it, we were already in front of the shop's entrance. The building is quite nice, it looks like an ancient building that is striking to the eye. The surrounding buildings are already twice as tall as the shop building. On the front it says 'Glass Shop'. Without thinking for a long time, we entered, and we heard the bell indicating that a customer had arrived.

In the shop, there were only a few people in pairs. Their faces showed gratitude to the rain. Maybe because of the rain, they could spend a little time with someone they love.

We ordered two glasses of warm English tea to simply warm our bodies which were cold due to the rain and wind falling simultaneously. The girl slowly tasted it. The hands that were previously shivering with cold now looked a little better. Maybe it was because the warmth of the tea had penetrated his bloodstream.

According to a book I borrowed from a friend, it was explained that British people have a tradition of drinking tea called afternoon tea. Afternoon tea is a tradition of drinking tea in the afternoon. Apart from filling the gap between lunch and dinner, afternoon tea was a social event for the British nobility at that time

The girl took off her round, foggy glasses, put them on the table next to my glass of tea, which I had already drunk half of.

“Sir, may I know your name?” he asked while investigating my wet face.

“Oh yes, miss. Sorry I forgot to introduce myself. Just call me Imam" I answered while adjusting my sitting position.

"My name is Jenny," she said, holding out her hand to introduce herself. Her hands are soft, her nails are clean, and beautiful.

We were immersed in a warm dialogue. The rain outside didn't stop. The rain became more intense, the wind gusted more and more wildly. However, thank goodness because we found a warm tea shop inside.

After forty-five minutes, we ran out of things to talk about. The girl fell silent again, and so did I. Again, the atmosphere became strange for both of us. I saw outside the glass window, the rain was getting worse. A thunderous roar shook the shop windows. I really want to talk again with Sandhya, a sweet girl I just met. Maybe rain could be an interesting topic of conversation for both of us.

After we were both silent for a long time looking at the wet road outside, I dared to continue the conversation.

"Oh yeah, you said earlier that rain is cruel? How can it be like that?" I moved my position next to the window and my eyes never left it.

“Rain once stole someone from me. Several years ago, a man once said to me that I was like rain whose drops made the eyes of anyone who looked at it cool. I really loved the rain at that time. But after a while, the man went somewhere. Maybe he has found rain that is more soothing to his heart than me. After that, to this day I don't really like rain anymore," his face turned away from the window, then looked at me. He looks sad. His eyes, which were previously glazed, are now filled with tears showing his intense longing for someone.

End....

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.