Fiction logo

Clouds of Heaven

One step forward

By JBazPublished 17 days ago 6 min read
Top Story - April 2024
48
 Clouds of Heaven
Photo by Marcela Vitória on Unsplash

I always struggled in life and have finally grown tired of trying to fit into the mold of normal behavior. It was enough for me that I just was. Aspirations and success are a moronic goal in life that I failed to embrace.

I guess that is why I find myself on the ledge of a sixty-eight-story building, December thirty first at 11:59 pm. I didn’t want any chance of survival, plus the view is spectacular, cold but freak'n beautiful.

I cannot think of a better way to welcome in the new year than hitting the pavement at exactly midnight. I'll be the first person to die in the new year or the last to die this year. Either way not a bad note in the record book.

The chill wind whips around me, like it understands my intentions and is willing to assist in my demise. The timing of the leap is critical if I wish to achieve my New years eve goal. When the ball drops do I start, or do I wait till the count down of ten?

Three, two, one, SPLAT ....Happy New Year!

Love it.

Oddly enough, even though I hated life I love math. There is something solid and identifying about it. Math is true and doesn't lie, oh sure it can be manipulated like the rest of us but not if we are honest about it, the numbers are factual, and I love that.

Why do I mention math? Because I needed it to calculate the exact time when to make my leap.

Sixty-eight floors ten feet per floor equals Six hundred and eighty feet. Using the kinematic equation: My Final speed equals initial speed plus acceleration time. Taking my weight into consideration and I'll be traveling nearly one hundred and forty-two point five miles per hour it will take approximately six point five seconds to fall sixty-eight floors at impact, assuming no unusual air resistance.

Therefore, if I take my final step at the count down of seven, it will take the point five seconds to begin the actual descent.

Oh, glorious math, It is the only thing in this life I ever trusted.

I certainly couldn’t trust my old man, who refused to deal with me, saying I was too weird to be part of his gene pool. Or my mother who kept seeking medical assistance, thinking the answer was to pump me full of medication. She said it works for her.

I prepare myself, as the digital clock flashes its continuous decline announcing thirty second to midnight, twenty-three seconds to freefall.

My God, it is truly spectacular up here, the lights go on forever, dark clouds slowly drift across the crescent moon, and from up here even the city lights cannot dim the brightness of the stars. The air is clean and there are no sounds from the city life below, nor do I hear the yells and cheers from the multitudes of gathering folk ready to welcome another year. There is only a steady hum. I now understand the lure of mountain climbing.

The peace is unbelievable.

I should have tried it, then again I really am not the outdoor type, give me a computer any day.

I step upon the ledge, feeling the buffeting winds pushing me forward, I steady myself and glance down. The view is surreal. Knowing there are people gathered below, I chose an area that is visible for all to witness but will not harm any one physically. They are here to celebrate what they hope will be a new beginning.

These poor souls, hope a clock counting down the seconds of a shitty year, will give them a chance for happiness. Most will eventually dismiss their goals in less than thirty days. Only to claim next year will be their year.

I no longer have that hope.

A feeling of vertigo consumes me as my stomach churns with anticipation or perhaps from my choice of a last meal. The mighty Burrito expels forcefully, the invisible hand of God scatters the mass into nothingness.

I wish I had a drink of water right about now, perhaps I should step down and get some, just to freshen my mouth.

"No, finish this tonight, you coward." I scream.

It was that yell into the empty sky that brought reality crashing back down to me.

I don't want to die; I am just so tired of being alone and living like this. Maybe medication will work. Perhaps there is someone out there for me. Someone who understands my unique characteristics. Maybe I should buy a dog, I could never abandon an animal who counts on me.

Relief floods my soul as the count down begins, ten...nine..

I turn to step down onto safer ground.

It is then fate intervenes in the form of a gust of wind, and damp concrete. Before I realize what is happening I am free falling, flying in a fashion that would cause a bird to shake their tiny heads in a dismissive attitude.

The stone-cold building rushes past like a blur, sounds of my own voice muted in the roar of the wind. My arms flap madly, I am as useless as an ostrich in flight.

Suddenly a powerful force steers me up and closer to the building, an updraft, the fear I had of miscalculating was real. Now I'll be just another fool who fell on New Years eve.

Spreading my arms wide I rise, I am seriously rising upward, then down. I watch helplessly as concrete and glass rush to meet me. Like a plastic bag caught in a draft, I'm helplessly tossed about on the whims of an unseen force.

I shut my eyes in anticipation of the pain to come.

I am a broken butterfly caught in the palm of fate, this action is no longer in my control, as if it ever were. I feel myself hurtling sideways ready to smash into the wall, yet it is softer than I imagine. The pain feels no more than as if I was tossed and landed on the billowy clouds of heaven.

I am no longer moving.

I must be floating in between the sweet here after and purgatory. I will meet my death with bravery, I am not a coward, even though my actions say otherwise.

The mind is a wonderous thing to hide the pain. It is with relief that the smell of brimstone is not present. Instead, I inhale the sweet scent of lilac and lavender, Which I can only assume means that the gates of angels have opened for me.

Accepting my death, I blink, peering into a hazy fog and realize the clouds of heaven look and feel very much like a mattress on earth

I am about to call out to my Saviour's when I hear the sweetest voice exclaim in a less than angelic tone. "What the fuck!"

My eyes fly fully open, and I find myself staring into the most beautiful green orbs. I'm lying next to a beautiful woman, on a mattress, on a balcony overlooking the city skyline.

My mind wonders on what the odds are of me being swept onto this veranda, while plummeting from above and landing on a mattress, next to a beautiful girl and with little to no injuries. I mean, my arm looks a little weirdly bent but other than that , all good.

I quickly begin the calculations if I take speed times wind velocity and…fuck it who cares.

As the fireworks begin to light up the night sky, there really is only one thing I can say.

"Happy New Year?"

By Mike Enerio on Unsplash

I found out later that Celia always brought her mattress onto the balcony every December thirty first. This is how she welcomes in the year by gazing and sleeping under the stars. A tradition her father did with their family, one that her and I continue to observe with ours.

Short StoryHumor
48

About the Creator

JBaz

I have enjoyed writing for most of my life, never professionally.

I wish to now share my stories with others, lets see where it goes.

Born and raised on the Canadian Prairies, I currently reside on the West Coast. I call both places home.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (43)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk11 days ago

    Returning to say CONGRATULATIONS on your Top Story!!!

  • Oh man that was an incredible story! You had so many great facets to it, I was enthralled and honestly had no idea what to expect. It even gave me a sense of fear and anxiety the way you described it, so well done and vivid. I also love how he talks so much about math, calculating things, that sounds like what I do, even in the weirdest and most inappropriate of times. This was masterfully crafted well done!

  • Jennifer David12 days ago

    Congrats on being on the leadership board and the top story! This writing is honest. I felt like I watched as I read, your writing it so visual. I was engrossed in the character and story. There is so much depth here, so much emotion. Absolutely wonderful! Thank you for sharing such a beautiful story

  • Tiffany Gordon 12 days ago

    FANTASTIC!!!!

  • Jay Kantor13 days ago

    Hi-Jb - Oftentimes you write fiction with a 'Schtickle' of you within it. As marvelous storytellers do. Thank you for your well wishes; I'm back with vigor. Left a message under my 'Marital~Bliss' written on my pad in hosp - better than twiddling my thumbs. - Always my Pleasure - Jb.in.l.a.

  • Mika Oka13 days ago

    Saved by the mattress!

  • Ameer Bibi13 days ago

    Congratulations 🎉🎉 for top story very entertaining story

  • JBaz, this is very entertaining, suspenseful, and funny when we need it to be. Nice job and congrats on TS!

  • D. D. Lee14 days ago

    Had me going. Lol. Congrats on T.S.

  • Andrea Corwin 14 days ago

    Hahahaha great suspenseful story. Loved the ending! Congrats on TS.🤩

  • Caroline Craven15 days ago

    What a great ending. I was certain he would plummet to his death. Phew! Great stuff.

  • S. A. Crawford15 days ago

    This started off so sad and ended with a surprising note of dark comedy, I love it. You're a hell of a story teller! 👏👏

  • Gerald Holmes15 days ago

    Oh man!! This was so well done. Loved the ending. One of your very best! Congrats on a well deserved Top Story.

  • Isabella15 days ago

    great

  • Anna 15 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!

  • Babs Iverson15 days ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Congratulations on your top story.

  • Gracious my that was fabulous. Needles to say, I love, love, love the consummation. Congratulations on the TS. https://kipasguys.pro/

  • Lamar Wiggins15 days ago

    -Three, two, one, SPLAT ....Happy New Year! Love it.- 😅 That might be my favorite line. Loved your story, J. Kudos, and congrats!

  • Kendall Defoe 15 days ago

    Oh, I love this one! Happy New April! Top Story!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)15 days ago

    Wow... this was such a roller coast of emotions and I love the twist where fate intervened and not in an obvious sort of way!! Such a beautiful story that really makes you ponder the meaning of life and all of its choices! Great work Jason and congrats on Top Story!!

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • D.K. Shepard15 days ago

    How suspenseful! And the dramatic action was narrated so well!

  • Gerard DiLeo16 days ago

    Just a pleasant detour on the journey that ends the same for all of us. Great story. It was better than getting a dog. (Not that there's anything wrong with getting a dog.)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.