Fiction logo

Bloody Snow

2183

By Lily SéjorPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
3

“Why are they ringing the alarm?”

“We got snow coming in less than an hour!”

Everyone was caught off guard. Predictions usually allowed for hours of preparation. Right now, my children were out with my father. He loved taking them out of the settlement to be among the trees; his favorite reminder of life before.

Who knew if he had packed an emergency tent just in case! I threw one in my bag, with masks and a tub of burn ointment then dashed out to find them.

Since the Great Change, in 2143, the sky had become a mortal enemy.

Seventeen minutes in, I was at daddy’s usual spot, welcomed by dead silence. Already, the sky was turning crimson.

“Dad! Ayden! Cami!”

Frosty silence.

“Guys!”

The air was turning to pure void; no more wind, smell or feeling other than cold emptiness.

I kept searching and calling, not noticing that the first red snowflakes had started to fall.

My vision was getting blurry.

“Daddy!”

I could no longer walk straight.

“Ay… den! Com... Cami!”

My words, now a slurry mess.

Excruciation flared on my wrist. Two snowflakes had made contact with an exposed part of my skin and they were searing my flesh.

But finally, my babies!

“Ya… you’re here!”

The poor boys were hiding, with a glazed expression, under daddy’s protective jacket. He was laying face down… under a thin layer of red snow.

I deployed the automatic tent and together we waited for the toxic storm to pass.

Sci FiMicrofiction
3

About the Creator

Lily Séjor

Lily is really not the best at describing herself, so she'll put this down for now and circle back when (if) she's inspired. For now, she wants you to know that she's your verbose friend who rarely knows what to say.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Test3 months ago

    Fantastic writing. Such a captivating story.

  • Penny Fuller3 months ago

    Dystopian microfiction, very cool! You managed a great sense of danger in such a small word count. Great work.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.