Fiction logo

An Inconvenience

30th April, Story #121/366

By L.C. SchäferPublished 17 days ago 3 min read
14
An Inconvenience
Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

"Can I go to the toilet?"

The teacher smiled that "sorry but no" smile, a slight tilt of the head, a faux-pained look.

"Please, Miss! I'm desperate!"

Esme wiggled from one leg to the other for emphasis.

"As soon as Natasha comes back."

Esme sagged, abandoning the theatrics and moving back to her seat.

Another girl approached the desk. "Please Miss, Natasha's been ages and I'm on my period, Miss."

The teacher frowned at her watch. Natasha had been ages, that was true.

"Okay, Dani," she said. "Wait a few more minutes, and if she's still not back, you can go. But you have to be quick! I mean it. Two minutes! Several people are waiting now. I can't let more than one go at a time."

When the bell went, she swept out of the classroom and hurried to the restrooms. Natasha might have left there long since, but it was worth a try.

She was already concocting what she was going to say. This is ridiculous. Unacceptable! Yes that was it. Something about trust, and valuing time.

She greeted the member of staff on duty. "You haven't seen Natasha Edwards, have you?"

"'Fraid not. Mind, I've only just got here, and there's already someone in the end cubicle."

It could be some other girl in there. Only just sat down. I won't disturb her. Still... I'll wait a bit. Just in case.

Minutes ticked by. Soon, everyone would have purchased their break-time snacks and it'd be packed in here. Miss Davis stepped up to the door and knocked.

"Sorry to disturb you," she said, tone brisk, "but you've been in there a while and we just need to check you're alright."

No reply.

She rapped again, more sharply, urging whoever it was to answer. There was no giggling, no sighing, no movement. The women exchanged a Look, each seeing her mounting concern reflected back at her.

The other girls, disgruntled, were firmly shooed out. When the door was opened, the sight was ghastly: Natasha lolling sideways on the seat, eyes glassy and lifeless, foamy vomit down her front.

++++++++++++

Word count: (excluding note): 366

Submitted on: 30th April at 23:28

*Quick Author's Note*

First, and most importantly: thank you for reading!

A Year of Stories: I'm writing a story every day this year. This one makes an 121 day streak since the 1st January. I can't believe I've come this far! I'm collating them all here.

Prompts: My unofficial April Challenge (Fucked Up Fairytales) is closed now! But if you'd like some more prompts to get your creative juices flowing, I've linked to a list of prompts for April.

Thank you

Thank you again! Especially if you are one of the wonderful people who has been staunchly reading these daily scribbles since the start of the year. I see you, and appreciate you 😁

I do my best to reciprocate as many reads as possible. If you leave me a comment, that makes it much easier. I'm behind at the moment, but I am catching up!

Microfiction
14

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes15 days ago

    I was worried, but hope for a different ending. 😢

  • D.K. Shepard15 days ago

    You’ve captured one of my worst nightmares in this! Very authentic dialogue! I know from experience!

  • Novel Allen16 days ago

    I admire your tenacity, on the writing thing....I am not even gonna ask. God, the things kids get up to these days...what with youTube and crap to distract them from the real world. So sad. We pray for them.

  • Tina D'Angelo16 days ago

    Oh, God. More!!

  • Shirley Belk16 days ago

    So many what ifs come to play now...

  • John Cox16 days ago

    In general, you’re saner across the pond. We’re batshit crazy in this part of the world.

  • Oh my, what happened to her? Did somebody poison her? So many questions!

  • At first it was hilarious. Finally there was something to think!

  • Caroline Craven17 days ago

    Oh no. I hoped I was going to be wrong. This was tragic. And so well written.

  • Wow, what an ending! At least she died doing what she loved, going to the bathroom! Well written ♥️❤️

  • John Cox17 days ago

    Teachers second worst nightmare and what Hannah said .

  • Andrea Corwin 17 days ago

    Yeah, well they should’ve checked in sooner! 🤬 On a different note. I remember one time when I was young and I felt sick to my stomach - but I was too polite to just run out of the room to the bathroom. I had to wait till the teacher called on me with my hand raised, and when she finally did, I think I vomited in the classroom.

  • Hannah Moore17 days ago

    Oh lord, sometimes you hope there is going to be a twist, that you've jumped to the wrong conclusion.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.