Feast logo

"Have a Butchers at that!"

A Recipe for Meat Eaters

By Caroline JanePublished 14 days ago 3 min read
8
A Brunch Umami Fest

No matter where you are in the UK, brunch is big business. From the trendiest eateries in the big city independent quarters to the suburban backstreet caffs, you will find some homage to the quintessentially British Fry-up everywhere you go.

Today, remembering that I had a Butcher's meaty breakfast pack at risk of acquiring frostbite in my freezer, and ever the zero-waste enthusiast, I decided it was time to make my own British Brunch offering. No, I am not here to re-write a classic, nor am I going to attempt to corrupt the long-loved combination of bacon and eggs. Definitely not. I am going to do something that I do well, i.e. take a marginalised element, in this instance, one from The Great British Breakfast Meat Fest and make it the star of the show.

If you have not already guessed, I refer to the oft-maligned, hugely misunderstood, and underrated British Breakfast staple: The Black Pudding. For anybody who does not know what this is, it is a tube of barley, oats, and usually suet, soaked in pig's blood. It is traditionally held in shape by an intestine. I know, after that description I don't know why it hasn't got more devotees either?!

Picture from: https://www.buryblackpuddings.co.uk/

You can get all types of blood puddings in the UK. The Scots are, of course, world-renowned for their Haggis. However, it is not just a British food. Blood Puddings are found across the globe. A quick look at Wikipedia and you will see their diaspora.

Getting serious for a moment, we all may turn our noses up at the description above, but one thing that has to be recognised about black pudding is that it helps ensure that no part of an animal slaughtered for food goes to waste.

"If you're going to kill the animal, it seems only polite to use the whole thing."

Fergus Henderson, author of "The Whole Beast: Nose to Tail Eating".

Black Pudding offers a tasty, rich, umami-laden way to ensure that we satiate our carnivorous desires as ethically as possible.

The Recipe:

I took two thick slices of my local and famous Bury Black Pudding and fried it until it was cooked all the way through. I crumbled it, saved a few crispy bits for the garnish, and folded the rest into some buttery mash made with four medium-sized floury potatoes. I shaped it into patties, dipped it in egg, rolled it into freshly blitzed bread crumbs, placed it on a lightly buttered oven tray and baked it on a high heat for twenty minutes until the crumb was toasty and golden on the outside. Meanwhile, I fried an egg, removing it from the heat in enough time to leave the yolk molten, and added a slice of bacon to crisp. I layered all the elements and served it with a brown, fruity sauce.

There was no need at any point to add seasoning because the Black Pudding and Bacon are so rich in flavour. The runny yolk provides a lovely, creamy sauce. The fruity brown sauce as a side, adds a piquant and fruity kick.

This recipe makes enough for four patties. Once coated in the crumb, you can freeze them. Once defrosted, you can bake them in an air fryer for a speedy, meaty brekkie/brunch.

I hope you enjoy it.

CJ xx

Additional Note:

The phrase "Have a Butchers" is derived from Cockney rhyming slang for "Have a look." Butchers traditionally use it as a hook to attract customers. Even as far away from London as Bury Food Market, you will still find open-air butchers calling to customers to come and have a "Butchers Hook."

Final thought: I am amazed that I have just written an article about blood pudding. Odd where life takes you!!

cuisinerecipe
8

About the Creator

Caroline Jane

Warm-blooded vertebrate, domesticated with a preference for the wild. Howls at the moon and forages on the dark side of it. Laughs like a hyena. Fuelled by good times and fairy dust. Writes obsessively with no holes barred.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran13 days ago

    I've heard of Black Pudding and Haggis before but I didn't know what they actually were. I had an educational shock today, lol. Also, thank you so much for that Wikipedia link, I never knew it's well known in soooo many places. I'm a vegetarian but I'm also a zero-waste enthusiast so I support that if an animal's been already killed, might as well use all parts. That would make it seem like it didn't die in vain.

  • Lamar Wiggins14 days ago

    I've heard of but have never seen black pudding. Thanks for providing a photo. I imagined it to be looser and gel-like in texture. I'm still on the fence whether or not I would try it, lol. You did make it sound delicious though. Thank you for sharing.

  • Cathy holmes14 days ago

    That looks delicious, though I'm not a fan of black pudding. It was quite popular down home when I was growing up. My mom and pop loved it. I prefer the white one, with mashed potatoes and corn relish. That said, I would definitely try that concoction you came up with. It really does look good.

  • Heather Hubler14 days ago

    I would definitely try this!! You made it sound so flavorful :) We have a thing in my area called Scrapple that uses what you might imagine, scraps from slaughter. It needs to be seasoned just right when forming, and then sliced thin and fried in a skillet. Yum! Wonderful write up...you just made me hungry for brunch!!

  • Rachel Deeming14 days ago

    Excellent! Not a fan of black pudding. Not averse to it, just not overly keen on the flavour but I have to say that that pic of your grub looks yummy! How British a response was that!

  • Mariann Carroll14 days ago

    Very informative. I love Brunch as well. I never heard of Black Pudding until you wrote this story. Thank you, Caroline Jane.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.