Confessions logo

Found Money!

I'm (not) Rich.

By Graham CookePublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 4 min read
6
Found Money!
Photo by John McArthur on Unsplash

"Extra Extra: Read all about it!"

"Man finds large large denomination bank notes," is what I thought a literal news headline might eventually read, based on what I discovered and thought a few mornings back.

Sudden riches were unfolding before I eyes. But could it be true?

Well, I had to follow through and investigate.

I had been rummaging around in my "one" safe, looking for something and found it, and then discovered some old bank notes.

I started to wonder. Is this my lucky day? I knew I occasionally "tucked away" the odd bank note for an emergency back-up and would promptly forget their location, as was my habit. But I always ensured the location was in something I would access if required for the given circumstance, i.e. my business Go-Bag(s) or Travel Jacket(s). Yes; I do have more than one of each set aside for specific destinations or travel purposes.

But what I also do is set aside foreign currency bank notes for out-of-country destinations to which I have travelled and to which I might want to return. No; I'm no James Bond, Jason Bourne, Jim Beam or some such person. Actually, I'm better.

Okay; stop laughing now. I am trying to tell a funny story here and I don't want to get off topic dwelling on the (presently inconsequential) "J.B." analogy. Alright, I digressed. Now, back to the story at hand.

Here's where the story begins, and I had not an inkling what lay in store me - funny, sad, whichever.

What I discovered in my personal safe was 5 bank notes, 1 of each denomination. There were:

  • 20 peso and 50 peso notes; and,
  • 3 Azerbaijani bank notes - 500, 1000 and 10 000 denomination.

Well, I know from experience, that I'd be lucky if the 20 and 50 peso Mexican notes would be lucky if worth 2 or 5 CND$ in Mexico, but likely less here in Canada. I've purchased pesos from a Currency exchange in Canada and in Mexico. You get a better rate here in Canada. However, if you can wait and need Mexican pesos, get them from a Mexican bank ATM where your Debit card is recognized.

Now the next currency I check is the Azerbaijani - "Azeri" - notes.

NOTE: Don't know where Azerbaijan is? I can Google it for you. But suffice to say, it's a former "province" of northern Iran long ago sold to an old Russian Czar, then transferred to the newly created USSR until its own crumbling back to a central Russian state without the many satellite nations it originally controlled. Once Azerbaijan and many of its neighbouring countries regained independence, newfound wealth status was regained through mostly petroleum resources. I spent a significant amount of time in Azerbaijan and thought I might need the cash again.

But here is the kicker on those 500, 1000 and 10 000 Azeri notes I found. After quickly running the numbers through an online currency converter, my results for each Azeri note in succession: 372.05 CDN, 744.11 CDN and 7441.06 CDN. That totals 8,557.22 CDN.

I almost fell off my desk chair. I'm thinking, I've got over 8-1/2 thousand dollars in my hands. I am like beside myself.

Last cup of coffee was 4 hours ago.

"I'm rich," I'm thinking; or, at least I can ease some financial issues.

Then, it dawns on me.

Before I rush out to a Currency Exchange, I should check something.

Mainly because I obtained these notes back in 2004.

Well, wouldn't ya know it, my heart fell when I learned Azerbaijan revalued their currency, the Manat, from one ISO standard to another ISO standard. In other words, what I have in my possession are AZM notes and they currently use AZN notes.

Plus, I thought to myself, I don't remember each note costing me that much back then, and being told "not to leave the country with them." But I did leave with them anyway. I mean; I thought I'd be back, just like many others in the company.

Turns out, I had left Azerbaijan back in late spring in 2004; and, starting the beginning of 2006 until the end of 2006, people could exchange their AZM for AZN bank notes for an exchange rate of 5000 to 1. This basically makes a lot of sense, because though the AZN Manat is created to look similar to a Euro, it now holds a value closer in line with the USD. And, when I originally took money from an ATM in central Baku, I recall the conversion of the time being approximately 1 USD for 5000 AZM from the ATM using my American Express for cash advances.

NOTE: If you've never been to Azerbaijan, I can recommend it. The capitol, Baku, is a place people should visit with its old world charm mixed with modernism.

Oh well! No financial windfall for me. Sucks to be me, I guess!

About the Author

Embarrassment
6

About the Creator

Graham Cooke

Semi-retired contract technical writer, editor and content developer now writing creatively in the genres of adventure, post-apocalyptic and science fiction, and technical gear reviews.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.