Beat logo

Juli Patchouli's Night Time Playlist:

My Friend Julie Creates Brilliant Playlists. This Is Another

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
4

Introduction

My friend Juli is a music lover, DJ, Poet, Writer, Performer, Snake Owner, and Cat Lover and publishes playlists on Facebook. I suggested she put one on Vocal, which piqued her interest. Then I said I would put it together and credit her.

These songs are all her choices, so are a journey of discovery for me and you.

Take a listen, and maybe leave some comments, if you are a Vocal member.

Thanks for this Juli.

This was the last one:

New mixtape playlist

One in a series of NIGHT-themed mixes:

This Night Has Opened My Guise:

Night Time Playlist:

THE ORGAN - "Even in the Night"

This is a new one for me, the organ reminds me vaguely of Bowie's "Memory of a Free Festival" but the song sounds as though it was recorded in a small empty deserted classroom.

RIDE - "Black Nite Crash"

Described thus in the video comments:

The reverb-soaked wall of shoe-gazing psychedelic sound with the best drummer on earth

I was going to mention them as shoe-gazers, but this is a great piece of guitar-driven pop from their album "Tarantula"

THE GOSSIP - "Nite"

This is quite doomy but a great song appropriate for the subject matter. Not sure it is goth, but this could almost be a Black Sabbath song, the main riff reminding me of some Tony Iommi runs.

ULTRA SUNN - "Night is Mine"

A song woven in electronic darkness and threat. Another new one to me but they are a band I will be checking out a lot more. They remind me of Dead Eyes Opened. This is definitely goth.

THE RAINCOATS - "Only Loved at Night"

While in the same universe as the Slits, I saw them supporting Billy Bragg at the City Hall in Newcastle in the late eighties. This is dark folk and I could imagine it on the soundtrack of "The Wicker Man", full of dark threat.

WHITE MAGIC - "Night"

This song was impossible to find so I have picked a substitute which is "Very Late" from "Dark Stars" EP. The song is piano-led and the mood is dark.

The band is Mira Billotte sometimes solo and sometimes with other performers.

OPERA DE NUIT - "Invitation"

Formed in 1982, Opéra de Nuit is a French coldwave band belonging to the independent scene from the early 80s.

The sound reminds me of Joy Division and sounds like a Martin Hannett production. Another goodie from Juli.

NIGHT SINS - "The Eternal Giver"

Similar is sound and production to the Opera De Nuit song, again, darkness on drip, and very good it is.

DEPECHE MODE - "The Dead of Night"

I need say nothing about Depeche Mode, don't you think?

LEBANON HANOVER - "Midnight Creature"

I love the introductory riff to this, very minimalist goth, and a voice that could be some ghoul waiting for its prey in a dark cemetery.

THE FALL - "Last Nacht"

Any Fall song is usually challenging, especially if you have never heard the band. This is a great introduction. A good way to get rid of undesirables at a house party.

SUEDE - "Saturday Night"

This and the next song will be more familiar territory for many people who are exploring Juli's excellent choices.

THE STROKES - "Last Nite"

And another hit single that you probably know, and for good reason.

BRUCE SPRINGSTEEN & MICHAEL STIPE - "Because the Night"

This was originally released by Patti Smith and was a huge hit, but it was cowritten by Bruce and Patti. Here is what Wiki has to say:

THE XX - "Night Time"

A subdued ending to this playlist that picks up a little at various points in the song. They remind me a little of White Magic.

I hope you have found something to enjoy here and maybe something new that you will investigate further.

Thank you fo reading and listening.

song reviewsplaylistelectronicabandsalternative90s music80s music
4

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock2 months ago

    Extremely interesting. Several of course, wouldn't play, but still quite interesting.

  • John Cox2 months ago

    Thanks for sharing, Mike! I love the cover of Patti Smith’s anthem Because the Night. I did not realize that the Boss & Michael Stipe had ever collaborated before.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.