Beat logo

Gladys Knight, Empress of Soul

"I hope you dance". Let's Dance!!!!!!

By Novel AllenPublished 19 days ago 3 min read
8

I hope you never lose your sense of wonder,

You get your fill to eat but always keep that hunger,

May you never take one single breath for granted,

God forbid love ever leave you empty handed,

I hope you still feel small when you stand beside the ocean,

Whenever one door closes I hope one more opens,

Promise me that you'll give faith a fighting chance,

And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance.

Lee Ann Womack

I hope you dance

I hope you dance

I hope you never fear those mountains in the distance

Never settle for the path of least resistance

Living might mean taking chances

But they're worth taking

Loving might be a mistake but it's worth the making

Don't let some hellbent heart leave you bitter

When you come close to selling out, reconsider

Give the heavens above more than just a passing glance

And when you get the chance to sit it out or dance

I hope you dance

Time is a wheel in constant motion

(Always moving) Rolling us along

Tell me who wants to look back on their youth and wonder

Where the years have gone

~~~~~~~~

............................................................................................

"Best thing that ever happened"

I've had my share of life's ups and downs

But fate's been kind, the downs have been few

I guess, you could say that I've been lucky

Well, I guess you could say that it's all because of you

If anyone should ever write my life story

For whatever ...for whatever reasons there might be

You'd be there between each line of pain and glory

Cause you're the best thing that ever happened to me

There have been times when times were hard

But always somehow, I made it, I made it through

Cause for every moment that I spent hurting

There was a moment that I spent just loving you

If anyone should ever write my life story

For whatever reason there might be

You'd be there between each line of pain and glory

Cause you're the best thing that ever happened to me.....

..........................................................................................

TODAY I AWOKE WITH THE SONG "I HOPE YOU DANCE" PLAYING IN MY HEAD. So I pay tribute to great songs here and everywhere...

So sad the song

I know that we both talked it over

And said it's best to forget

We'll leave all our memories behind us

It's better ended and yet

So Sad The Song

So sad the song of two empty lives

When that moment of truth

Suddenly arrives

And so sad the song

Of what might have been

You see a lifetime of dreams

Scattered in the wind

Together

We belong together

So sad the song that says...goodbye!

~~~~~~~~~~~

The way we were

Can It be that it was all so simple then

Or has time rewritten every line

And if we had the chance to do it all again

Tell me, would we. Could we.

Memories, like the corners of my mind

Misty water color memories, of the way we were

Scattered pictures of the smiles we left behind

Smiles we gave to one another

For the way we were

Can it be.........................

Memories may be beautiful and yet

Much too painful to remember

We simply choose to forget

So its the laughter we will remember

Whenever we remember

The way we were

Remember the way we were!!!!!!!

Gladys Maria Knight known as the "Empress of Soul", is an American singer. She has recorded with her family group and is A ten-time Grammy Award-winner.

Knight has recorded two number-one Billboard Hot 100 singles ("Midnight Train to Georgia" and "That's What Friends Are For" which she did with Dionne Warwick, Sir Elton John and Stevie Wonder), eleven number-one R&B singles and six number-one R&B albums. She has won seven Grammy Awards (four as a solo artist and three with the Pips) and is an inductee into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Vocal Group Hall of Fame along with The Pips. Two of her songs ("I Heard It Through the Grapevine" and "Midnight Train to Georgia") were inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame for "historical, artistic and significant" value.

She also recorded the theme song for the 1989 James Bond film Licence to Kill. Rolling Stone magazine ranked Knight among the 100 Greatest Singers of All Time. She is also a recipient of the National Medal of Arts and Kennedy Center Honors.

70s musicdancecelebrities
8

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Every new day is a blank slate. Write something new.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon 13 days ago

    Gladys is a Treasure and the song 'I Hope You Dance' is like salve for the soul: soothing, powerful & wisdom-filled!!

  • angela hepworth15 days ago

    Gladys is a legend with a beautiful voice and a phenomenal discography, amazing tribute to her!

  • As always, due to my ignorance to old music, I've not heard of her. I'll have to come back here later to listen to the songs!

  • Hannah Moore18 days ago

    I love that I hope you dance song. Maybe it's a bit cheesy, but it also is so right. And Gladys - masterful voice.

  • Mariann Carroll18 days ago

    Great tribute to Gladys Knight. I grow up to listening to her music . Listening to her songs is like home to me. Thank you for sharing 🌺❤️♥️Best song pick to share

  • Emily Binkley18 days ago

    Gladys Knight is a legend! Great job bringing light to her music.

  • It’s very poetic! Great work! I’ll certainly remember Gladys Knight now!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.