Beat logo

Frankie's Rediscovery: Paulo Nutini- Radio

Nothing better than uncovering a great tune all over again

By Frankie MartinelliPublished 17 days ago Updated 17 days ago 3 min read
2

Ok I'm obsessed again, or should I say RE obsessed?! April has been a cruel mistress writing wise which means my lyric writing and poetry has dwindled somewhat, however do not fear I'm working on something so normal service will resume again soon. In the mean time are you ready for me to introduce you to an awesome tune again?....of course you are! This time in the form of Radio by Paulo Nutini

The track starts with a pounding bass line and playing bass myself a thunderous bass line at the start of any song ranks very highly with me

The song is about doing anything possible to distract yourself from a lost love, and begging to feel that love and that connection, and warmth again.

You can hear the longing in his voice. I mean if you know of Paulo you'll know that his voice is a battle cry whatever the backing.

You put you're faith in something beautiful

Sell your reflection to the travelling show

We leave ourselves a lot to answer for

I've left myself, and now I wanna go home

I totally identify with the lyrics here. I once told someone "sometimes a home is not always made of bricks". I had someone who felt like home to me (I don't know why I'm speaking in past tense there, because she will forever feel like home to me), and for those of you who are used to my work by now you'll know I always try to get across just how much she means to me even though she feels a million miles away from me right now. That's my main take away from this song sometimes your home and your safe space is a person.

and there's nothing on the radio

They're all talking like they're falling in love

Oh, there's nothing on the radio

and then it hits me like a fist from above

That lyric really punches me in the gut! I love how he is able to express his grief so eloquently an unselfishly, because after all true love is unselfish. That's what we all must remember on our hardest of days.

We half remember all the promises we made,

but they're like white noise to us now

We light our match, beside ourselves,

and it's easy

What these lines say to me is that he so badly wanted to have a future with someone, and I think everyone can relate. I'm an eternal optimist. I am VERY much a believer in right person wrong time, and nothing can sway me on that!

These days are written on our face

and in the faith that we can change this script tonight

You'll know me better than I'll ever know myself

If you see me, make it easy on me

I love these lines they let me know that he hasn't given up, and I think that's a lesson to all of us, no matter how dark things are we must continue to be a light in the world, and no matter how much love has hurt us we must continue to love fiercely, unapologetically, and unconditionally.

I think the message of this track is no matter how scorned you are by love, or how upset you are that things didn't go the way you wanted them to, there is always hope, and there is always a hidden reason why things didn't work out the first time round, but if you get the chance to start over it could be better than you ever imagined.

Below is a live version of Radio.

There is something about a great live performance

that scratches an itch the record just cannot

Please enjoy, and let me know what you think!

song reviewsindie
2

About the Creator

Frankie Martinelli

Musician.

All work is copyrighted, and is my own.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.