01 logo

Should Creators Ever Consider AI?

I Feel AI Can Be A Dangerous Beast When It Goes Unchecked In The Wrong Hands

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 14 days ago 3 min read
8
An AI Image By The Author

Introduction

Every so often I get challenged about my use of AI in my creations. While I see AI as a tool that needs to be used carefully, I do not consider it intelligent but do consider it artificial.

This article starts with an AI-generated image using Nightcafe and then a piece of AI-generated music using Suno.

I thought Einstein playing chess with a pigeon was a good illustration of how I feel dealing with AI.

How I Use It

I am not an artist or a musician and in creating stories on Vocal an image or video is required for the story. I used to use YouTube videos as the main image but they are often withdrawn from YouTube leaving a blank to introduce the story, so with that and advice from friends I started to use my own photographs and images from free sites, with a credit for the source, but I still got criticized for plagiarising others work, even though I credited them.

Then someone posted a piece about AI art generation and I thought that might be a way to go as whatever was created would be a combination of me and the generation tool and I documented it here.

There are issues with some AI tools stealing from artists and not crediting them and I am aware of that and would drop NightCafe if they were shown to be doing that.

I make my creations available for free on Pixabay, along with some of my photographs, and so far I have had 15,000 downloads and one $2 tip, but I am not trying to make money from my AI Creations. The thing is with AI art is it may look fine from a distance, but look a little closer you will see hands with six fingers, dogs with five legs and many more faults.

If I want a real work of art I would find a real artist, although I have been accused of taking the bread out of the mouths of children of real artists by using an AI Art creation tool.

Here is an example of real art, and where I can I do use real art.

My friend Paul Carrielies (also known as Bob) recently told me about Suno, which allows you to create AI music. I will use this every now and then, but I am not a good musician but you can check me out in person on my YouTube channel:

This is my stuff on Suno (use the arrow in the top right-hand of the link):

The pieces I generate are about a minute long, but I feel that this is in the same area as autotune and some electronic music devices used for techno and the like that result in stuff that could not be played by a human.

AI vs Real Writing

While I think AI might be useful for producing system documentation, it would still require checking by a human to make sure everything is correct.

I do not condone it being used for creative writing although I was tricked into sharing an AI-generated poem on Vocal by a friend of mine, but that just raised my awareness of it. You can check it out here:

While I have dipped into AI text generation it is not something I approve of, but would I be OK with an artist or musician using an AI text generator to write the promotional blurb for their music or art? Yes, I would. Would I be OK with them using it to publish a poem or novel? I would not.

Conclusion

I see AI as a tool that needs to be used with extreme care, like a chainsaw or an acid bath.

Thank you so much for reading, and I would love to hear your opinions.

tech newsproduct reviewhow tohistorygadgetsfuturefact or fictionapps
8

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Ameer Bibi12 days ago

    AI is helpful if we use it in a limited way just for our information gathered purpose

  • Mariann Carroll14 days ago

    Can they be supervised is my question. They seem to respond to chat in an interesting way, lol 😂

  • Agree with this. AI is very helpful for a lot of things - particularly as a teacher -its really helped me. And I use it for pics but as you said making money is not on the agenda - just want to make my stories look pretty 😁 Celia 🤍

  • C.B. Visions14 days ago

    A.I. is great tool, can be very helpful. The moment we understand it like that, it can make our life more efficient. But we still have to add the human factor in. Things I needed 8+ hours for can be done in 1-2 hours now. But I do understand the concerns about it and we will face many new authors with the real name A.I. for a while. New technology, new ways to cheat, people are like that, yet it will settle down to just be a good tool to use at the end.

  • I don't favour AI art because it always turns out miserably for me. As for AI music, I need to check out the links you sent me hehehe

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.