Styled logo

Please Let These Trends Die

They've simply got to go.

By Samantha HearnPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
5

Here are 6 trends that simply must go in 2021. Why? They're basic, boring and/or just plain fugly.

When in doubt about the bucket - simply CHUCK IT.

1. Bucket hats. They are just not cute. I don't care if they're fuzzy, printed, or worn by every supermodel in existence right now - bucket hats were ugly in the 90s and they're ugly now. They look like little weird mushrooms. Let them go. You can do it. You don't need a hat that doesn't flatter the shape of your head. You don't need a hat that looks like you're going fishing when we all know you're not. A better option is a classic French beret or even a dang baseball cap. Which brings me to my next horrifying trend that needs to pass away peacefully...

I'm suppressing the need to vomit as I type this.

2. MAGA hats. The man lost the election - it's time to let this trend die. And while we're at it, let's leave behind any and all political wear. Be real here, politicians don't care about you. Even if they did, or for the rare ones who do, we shouldn't be treating them like celebrities. I feel like wearing a politician's merch (no matter what side of the fence they're on) puts that individual in a weird, pseudo-religious, godlike status that contributes to the massive problem of power tripping in politics. Let's take the idolatry out of politics once and for all. PLEASE. The only way we can move forward with democracy is to stop treating elected officials like kings and queens, and instead treat them like our employees since, you know, we pay their salaries. Keep the Stan Culture where it belongs - with the hotties of Star Wars and Timothee Chalamet.

Imagine wearing these sunglasses and a hard wind blows, tangling your strands in the plastic flames of Hell.

3. These kinds of sunglasses. The ones with flames and stuff on them. This trend was hot for like, a second, but I think we can all agree that they're pretty ridiculous. Also - when you put them on top of your head like I do, your hair is bound to get caught up in all of that. You will lose strands of hair and look like a ding dong doing it. Give me a good plastic-nosed pair of cat eye sunnies any day over these flaming pieces of junk. There's a reason they only cost $2 on Shein.

It's just...bad.

4. The whole entire early 2000's resurgence. You guys...I lived through this time. I wore the Uggs, I did the blazer and boots with a striped scarf look. I did the pulling-my-low-rise-pants-up-every-single-time-I-sit-down thing. It didn't get me anywhere and it won't get you anywhere either. Let this trend stay in the past. If low-rise jeans make a true comeback, we are all in massive trouble. The world is not ready for, nor does it need, that much butt crack.

This is three separate friend groups but you can't convince me for one second that they're not all the exact same person.

5. Basic. You know what it looks like. The muted neutrals. The same color blonde highlights. The gaggle of Rebekah's and McKenzeigh's and Kaylynn's in light wash jeans with bleach white teeth and Coach bags. The other day I was scrolling through my Instagram stories when I saw this literal group of gals in a photoshoot together and to be completely honest - I couldn't tell who was who. They all looked identical. How can this even BE? Surely they're not all....related? Can we please get some originality? Can we please add a little bit of ~*spice*~? And not pumpkin spice either! Give us some flavor that's not listed in your Starbucks order.

Bones. All I see are bones.

6. Skinny. Okay look, there's nothing wrong with being skinny. Some people are naturally really skinny and that's great for them! But I'm so ready for body diversity in fashion. For every skinny girl, can we get a medium-size girl? And for every medium-size girl, can we get a plus-size girl? And I don't mean the glamourized plus-size that's absolutely snatched - you know, skinny waist, perfect curves. That's nice but it's not real life. Real life has lumps and bumps and hip dips. Real life has GUTS. While major designers are catching up on color diversity, but there is little to no size or body type diversity in advertising. Brands like Aerie are known for embracing real bodies, but a lot of the fashion world still needs to get with the program. Normal people buy fashion, so let's make advertisements that feature normal people. I can't tell you how many times I've seen an outfit on the model online, loved it and purchased the outfit, and when it comes in the mail I try it on and go, "Oh...this actually doesn't look anything like what I thought it would." Had the model been anything but 5'10" and stick-thin, it might be a different story. Let's embrace all bodies in 2021.

*

I'm all for choosing your own path towards happiness, so if you don't identify with this little scathing style review then that's A-Okay. Wear whatever you want! Be who you want! My biggest piece of advice is wear what you feel reflects who you are inside, and if that just so happens to be a bucket hat and low-rise jeans, more power to you my friend. It's just not my vibe. Happy styling!

trends
5

About the Creator

Samantha Hearn

Hi! I'm Sammy Hearn, a photographer and artist based in Nashville, Tennessee. I like to write all sorts of things - DIY how-to costume stuff, photo series, short poems, fiction, you name it. My work can be found at www.samanthahearn.com.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.