Poets logo

You

honoring non-mothers on mothers day

By Christy MunsonPublished 10 days ago Updated 10 days ago 1 min read
12

__________

another gave me birth

but you,

you gave me life

.

you raised me up

and raised me well

you carried me

in your heart

carried me

when I couldn't go on

carried me like a song

whose verses you knew long before

life gave you words

.

you stood beside me

and lifted me

lifted my eyes to see

taught my heart to sing

my legs to crawl

you gave me the strength

to stand

to walk on

when the time comes

.

you taught my back to bend

my will to consider and reconsider

my integrity never to break

my tears to find their way home

to you

as often as they need to

.

you showed me by example

that I am more

more than enough

.

you gave me trust and truth

that I might someday choose

to free

my soul to wander

my dreams to fly

my hopes to soar

my wings to glide

.

you are not the one who gave me birth

you gave me

me

and this fine life

and that is the greatest miracle I've known

.

you are

and forever will be

anchor to my sea

starlight in my sky

soil to my roots

the love that sees me home

__________

Copyright © 05/10/2024 by Christy Munson. All rights reserved.

inspirationallove poemsHolidayFriendshipFamily
12

About the Creator

Christy Munson

My words expose what I find real and worth exploring.

Top Stories: 🥳

MAY | MAY | MAY

APR | APR

MAR | MAR | MAR

FEB | JUN

Unofficial Challenge Winners:

Ask Me in December | Story of Humanity | Strangely Art

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • D.K. Shepard8 days ago

    What a wonderful tribute to an influential person in a nurturing and teaching role!

  • L.C. Schäfer9 days ago

    Beautiful ❤

  • Awww, this was so beautiful and full of emotions. I loved it!

  • Hannah Moore10 days ago

    Isn't it beautiful that anyone could be that person to another.

  • John Cox10 days ago

    This both soars and moves in equal measure, Christy. I’m sure whoever you wrote this for will always treasure it.

  • shrey 10 days ago

    okay....wow, It's been the story of my childhood, which my mother used to tell me as lazy afternoon story of 'Gopal' and 'Yashoda' mata (mother). Amazing and beautifully described everything!! ♥♥

  • Babs Iverson10 days ago

    Beautifully and exquisitely written!!! Love it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Anna 10 days ago

    I love it! Respect and love to all the fathers too, because if they didn't work hard, we couldn't have eaten!❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.