Poets logo

Mirages

Part I of a jaded love poem. ❤️

By Gina C.Published 17 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - May 2024
39
Image created with Midjourney

I’d always placed you on a pedestal.

Incredible you were--your

castle glimmered in the sky.

I was always stagnant as I watched you there:

just a fragment of a lullaby.

I wished for us to be a love verse.

The worst in you was camouflaged---

I could have worshipped you forever there…

On standby.

But then I...

Had a dream that your regime unraveled,

And your castle came down crashing in collages from

the sky.

And I...

Danced amid your flame and ruin--

Finally realizing all I saw in you was just

illusion:

A mirage to which I

Could finally, finally say... goodbye.

*

-Gina C. 🧚‍♀️✨

(Part II of this poem coming soon!)

*

Author's Note: In preparation of hopefully self-publishing my own poetry book sometime in the foreseeable future, I have given myself the personal challenge of writing and posting one poem a day. 🤗 Today I'm kind of cheating, though - this is a poem I wrote this last fall that I posted to TikTok but never shared with Vocal.

This poem is part of my "Ghosts of Relationships Past" series, where I reminisce about old love experiences of mine, gone bad. :) ❤️

Will I be able to stick to my own challenge? Your guess is as good as mine. 😅 I do hope to post something each day - even if it's just a haiku. :)

love poems
39

About the Creator

Gina C.

Achievements:

  • Twice-published in Vocal's Moment of Freedom Collection:

My Soul of Red

Free Verse

Free-Form poet of ethereal style🧚‍♀️✨

Fantasy writer

A sucker for a good rhyme

Follow my Ghosts of Relationships' Past series:)

TT: poetry.in_pajamas

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (27)

Sign in to comment
  • Emos Sibu Poriei (Kaya)12 days ago

    Wow! Best! I love it!

  • Lamar Wiggins12 days ago

    Some of your best work, Gina C. Keep Going!!!

  • Amy Black14 days ago

    Beautiful imagery, soft prose, and poignant metaphors—you're an incredibly talented poet. :) Well crafted!

  • Gina, this is fantastic! I found you on the Vocal writers' board and am so glad I did!

  • Grz Colm15 days ago

    Some fantastic imagery here Gina! Thanks for sharing it with us. I am very happy to hear you have a goal of publishing your very own book of poetry. Exciting! Also, lucky you said some Haikus as I get so stressed for these members that write/post everyday - haha.😅 You can do this! 🤗

  • Kodah15 days ago

    This poem has to be one of my new favourite reads! Incredibly done! 💌 Congrats on top story!!💘

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Margaret Brennan15 days ago

    Congratulations on TS. Incredible!! Great poem.

  • Babs Iverson15 days ago

    Beautiful absolutely beautiful!!! Loving it!!!❤️❤️💕 Congratulations on Top Story!!!

  • Dana Crandell15 days ago

    I don't care if it's a "cheat," it's beautiful. Sad, but beautiful. I'm working on a poetry collection, too, along with two other books. I'd challenge you to a race, but I hate setting myself up to lose. You go, Gina!

  • You have used some beautiful imagery here to weave a sad yet powerful tale of love had and then lost. Wonderful job, and congrats on the top story.

  • Thavien Yliaster15 days ago

    Heart Wrenchingly Sad Yet, free from Illusion Chains Makes my brain feel Glad

  • Shirley Belk15 days ago

    Beautiful and strong!

  • Jay Kantor15 days ago

    Hi-Gc - So glad to see you back - My favorite 'Topic' as well...reviewing the 'Ghosts of the Past.' Jj.in.l.a.

  • D. D. Lee15 days ago

    Beautifully written, as always. All the best on your journey to publishing! Congrats on Top Story!

  • Christy Munson15 days ago

    Congratulations on Top Story! Loved this line in particular: "Danced amid your flame and ruin". Beautiful!

  • Belle16 days ago

    I love this challenge! Stick with it! Congrats on top story!

  • Heather Hubler16 days ago

    Congrats on TS!!!

  • This is beautiful, Gina. Your poetry will touch the hearts of many. Good luck!!

  • Hannah Moore16 days ago

    Such an important realisation. Makes all the difference.

  • Damn so gorgeous 👌🌟❤️😍🥰👏

  • Omgggg, that was soooo freaking relatable! I just wish I'd be able dance in those flame and ruin! Looking forward to part 2!

  • Cathy holmes16 days ago

    This is gorgeous. You are so talented. ❤

  • D.K. Shepard16 days ago

    So good, Gina!! Flowed beautifully with amazing imagery! Loved “And your castle came down crashing in collages from the sky.” Looking forward to seeing more poetry from your daily challenge!

  • Emily Binkley17 days ago

    Love it! Its so beautifully written. And I believe you can write a poem everyday 🤣✨

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.