Poets logo

I wish heaven had visiting hours.

I wish heaven had visiting hours.

By Alecia HarriottPublished 18 days ago 1 min read
4
I wish heaven had visiting hours.
Photo by Sam Schooler on Unsplash

OH I wish heaven had visiting hours, even just for awhile,

When grief weighs heavy, and tears ever flowing.

To walk through heaven gates, if only in my dreams,

And hold you even for just a moment in time

and we bask in the glow of celestial beams.

We would sit by the streams, where memories flow,

And whisper words we both hold close to our hearts,

we never let go.

To hold hands with angels, in quiet repose,

And feel the warmth of the love that still glows.

Oh, to see you once more my dear grandma, I hold dear,

To chase away shadows, to banish the fear.

But though heaven's gates may be closed to my sight,

Your presence still lingers, in stars shining bright from the heaven above.

For in the depths of my hearts, your memories remain,

In every whispered prayer, in every refrain.

And though I may yearn for visiting hours to be,

our love knows no bounds, in death or in life,

And heaven's presence soothes the ache of my strife.

Rest well my dear Nana Golding.

sad poetryMental Healthheartbreak
4

About the Creator

Alecia Harriott

I am excited to share my passion for history, storytelling and poetry with readers around the globe and look forward to continuing my journey as a writer, one word at a time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Esala Gunathilake18 days ago

    Wonderfully written. You nailed it.

  • angela hepworth18 days ago

    Amazing poem here and what a powerful title.

  • Andrea Corwin 18 days ago

    Alecia, this is an absolutely endearing and beautiful poem for your grandma. Great job!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.