Poets logo

Harboring Happiness - Day 5

kois and ducklings

By Sam Eliza GreenPublished 19 days ago 1 min read
2
photo by Mattew Gave on Pexels

Today in harboring happiness, I wear layers: one for the heat of a spring too eager to be summer, another for comfort.

I think of anniversaries and how all the layers of what I used to be are still buried somewhere inside me. Three years feels too brisk to encapsulate this renewed life. Yet, happiness thanks the priceless opportunity of starting over.

Kois cluster at the outermost edge of a pond, mouths like O’s poking through the water. A fuzzy duckling jumps in before the others, his worried mother following right behind. Happiness imagines he wants to make friends with the fish, and they aren't too busy for him.

Kites hang from trees on this unordinary day named after the sun. And she graces me with all her brilliance. A paper fan cools her touch.

Worries drown in a bowl of miso soup, and I try not to think about tomorrow. Happiness promises it can only get better from now.

I drink hot tea at twelve and iced coffee at three. When words have abandoned me, I sit on the back porch watching birds congregate around the orange tree. Happiness wonders if they ever go to church just to listen to the music.

In harboring happiness, I will play songs on the stereo, singing along even when I don't quite know the lyrics.

Free Versesurreal poetryStream of Consciousnessnature poetryMental Health
2

About the Creator

Sam Eliza Green

Wayward soul, who finds belonging in the eerie and bittersweet. Poetry, short stories, and epics. Stay a while if you're struggling to feel understood. There's a place for you here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk18 days ago

    Thank you for a breath of fresh air

  • Awww, I love seeing the Koi's O mouths heheheheh

  • Andrea Corwin 19 days ago

    I love the wondering if the birds go to church to hear the singing! Such a unique line to put in the poem. Beautiful poem!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.