Poets logo

Familia

Patterns to Undo

By Mackenzie DavisPublished 23 days ago 1 min read
11
Image by grégory Delaunay from Pixabay

Eat your fill, mighty vulture (self-described, even you admit).

Call it “wasting not” but we will grow to want so much and you’ll

learn to grow cataracts and a bottomless pit.

In times of grief, I will turn my ear from you, redirect

pathways from devouring motifs and rest in what you are.

Someday, I will teach my young that hunting is a virtue and leave your lessons,

entrails spread, for your kind to pick clean.

Acrostic
11

About the Creator

Mackenzie Davis

“When you are describing a shape, or sound, or tint, don’t state the matter plainly, but put it in a hint. And learn to look at all things with a sort of mental squint.” Lewis Carroll

Find me elsewhere.

Copyright Mackenzie Davis.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Poppy 20 days ago

    "you’ll learn to grow cataracts and a bottomless pit." I just adore that line!

  • Kenny Penn20 days ago

    Oooft this poem is really good, Mackenzie! I feel exactly like Joe did. Wonderful!

  • Joe O’Connor21 days ago

    Feels almost like a child that has grown up, pushing back against the failings of their parents. I like the vulture imagery especially!

  • Shirley Belk21 days ago

    Nature unfolds

  • "In times of grief, I will turn my ear from you, redirect pathways from devouring motifs and rest in what you are." These lines were my favourite! Loved your Acrostic!

  • Hannah Moore23 days ago

    It's really hard to feel disparaging after that beautiful picture though!

  • Paul Stewart23 days ago

    Damn...this hit hard...hard hard...and in beautiful language. I love the first line and the bracketed bit...made it feel conversational...like a letter...to someone...not particularly nice. obviously. Another amazing entry, Mackenzie pal. Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.