Poets logo

Do all mothers go through this?

Curtal Sonnet

By Diani AlvarengaPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
4
Do all mothers go through this?
Photo by Jonathan Borba on Unsplash

I loved giving birth to you to be your mother. I don’t regret it.

But I am so much more than just your mother.

Your father doesn’t smile at me so much; no effort into our love life.

My presence or absence doesn't seem to affect him one bit

I’m a mom, but I am not meant to just give you a brother.

Despite our differences, I still desire to be your father’s wife.

Do all mothers feel unloved after having a baby? I’m perplexed,

having you should not mean I should be miserable, in my afterlife

I hope to come upon a man who wants to pursue me and bother

me when I ignore him. At least your father still sends me a text

to ask about your well-being. I’m thankful you’re in my life.

Sonnet
4

About the Creator

Diani Alvarenga

“I write to give myself strength. I write to be the characters that I am not. I write to explore all the things I'm afraid of.”

Note: feel free to leave tips if you liked my stories! Would be greatly appreciated!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Sam The Doula (Blooming Miracle)2 months ago

    I think lots of us do. Becoming a mum can be a lonely business, but it is temporary! It's important to counter the loneliness for your mental well-being. You will find a new equilibrium where this little person fits in. It will be OK! It is hard. People tell you before the baby comes that it will be hard, but they can't properly describe it to you, prepare you. In some ways it was far easier than I expected, and in other ways, much more difficult! The crisis of identity is a whole thing on its own. It's a kind of grief, I think. I mourned my old life, my old Self. Before I went through it, I'd have thought it weird to feel grief after a *birth*, rather than a death!

  • This is a risk that I would never ever take, to become a mother. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.