Poets logo

Dethroned

Misery cannot find me

By Anna TorresPublished 21 days ago Updated 21 days ago 2 min read
2
Dethroned
Photo by Shannon Potter on Unsplash

I've returned from dehydration in the arid desert. I've resurfaced from forced hiatus in isolated Siberia. You held too much influence and power in just one useless finger. But I had the common sense to finally push you away so you wouldn't linger. A pariah speaking at a different frequency than me. We were speaking in tongues and alternating tones that neither of us could decipher. This vendetta will outlast us both. I've placed myself back on the altar and knocked you off your pedestal. Invincible and supreme, there's nothing more you can throw at me. You made me yield when I should have skyrocketed. The defeat you had orchestrated will backfire on you. The elaborate cage you trained me in couldn't withstand my wrath. I've destroyed the illusions you had set in stone. The firing squad is here to finish what I started. Execution by guillotine is a waste of energy. Trial by fire is the best way to go. I've yielded too many times and now the answer is simply no. I wasn't afraid to die with you by my side. I was afraid to live and not dare step out from under your shadow. The fearmonger in me sought more than anything you were ever gracious enough to hand to me. This isn't love nor was it madness. It was an excuse to stay stagnant that made my insanity completely pointless. I assumed we shared our sickness together but it was I who suffered alone. You made your exit so sudden that I was left with this burden to exist alone. You thought you had made this choice for me. I thought I would avenge myself but it is my silence that will speak volumes for me. My choice to remain supreme will perform the spectacle you will never witness. My ability to be invincible is the moment you will never see. Some people will tear themselves apart to find their worth. I always knew I was. I just couldn't locate it until I eradicated you first. You forced me to capitulate and emulate surrender. But I never acquiesced and I never will. The only armistice I agree to is emancipation. Keep your shield up and your armor intact. You may need it when I strike you down and step over your corpse to find my ultimate peace. Misery cannot find me. There is nothing more you can do to deplete me

Mental Healthsurreal poetrysad poetryinspirationalheartbreak
2

About the Creator

Anna Torres

I’m a 37-year old mother. I love reading, metal music, and writing. I have begun writing again since 2021

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 21 days ago

    I love this line: A pariah speaking at a different frequency than me. But here is the essence: My ability to be invincible is the moment you will never see. Some people will tear themselves apart to find their worth. I always knew I was.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.