Poets logo

Cheeky

A shared giggle.

By KJ AartilaPublished 26 days ago 1 min read
10
My 17-year-old daughter on her way to Prom.

Every morning, as my daughter heads off to school with her hands full of stuff, she leans forward to offer me her cheek for a kiss.

I give it a peck and say “Good-bye. Love you, Sweetie! Have a good day!”

Sometimes we miss, though, and one of us gets a nose to the eye.

This morning, I was standing by the stove, stirring oatmeal, when she leaned in. My foot was forward and she slid hers. Her foot bumped mine, stopping the graceful lean, and we bumped our cheeks together.

I repeated my typical words to send her off, but we were both giggling about our awkward show-of-affection as she went out the front door.

Free VersehumorFor FunFamily
10

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk8 days ago

    Oh, treasure those moments!!!!

  • Lovely! The very real dangers of kisses!😵‍💫… I suffered many smashes to my nose when my daughter was little & I’d kiss her good night in the dark bedroom 🤣

  • Hannah Moore24 days ago

    I love the ordinary warmth of this.

  • How cute! That put a smile on my face.

  • Loved it!!!

  • Hahahahahahhaha that was so cute and hilarious!

  • Cathy holmes26 days ago

    lol. This is wonderful, in such a wholesome way. Love it.

  • Thavien Yliaster26 days ago

    Hehehe, whenever my parents leave they can never do so without "my goodbye kiss." I don't care if they're just going to the grocery store, or on a work trip for several days. They ain't leaving without giving me a kiss.

  • Things that make you laugh and smile are always worth having

  • Heather Hubler26 days ago

    Aww, I love this so much!!! What sweet memories in the making each day :) So glad you shared this. Put a smile on my face.

  • Paul Stewart26 days ago

    This is so fun, and sweet. Sign of a great relationship. I love silly goofy stuff like this that just gets your day off to a great start! Lovely stuff, Keila! :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.