Poets logo

Birthday Baby Shower

Petrarchan Sonnet

By Diani AlvarengaPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
3

I wore a bodycon green dress, and my hair was a silky cloak.

Your grandfather planned for a bunny-themed baby shower.

Your father did not say happy birthday to me or give me a flower,

But that did not matter, I wanted to keep my tone happy as I spoke.

People asked me how I felt. I felt marvelous. Then I made a joke

and said that I would make you silent all the time if I had some power

that allowed me to calm you down, but then I said you’re my daughter

and if you wanna cry for no reason, fine, but in the future, don’t smoke

I received diapers, baby clothes, baby bottles, and an elegant cake.

The only thing I did not agree on was having people I never met, attend.

I do not hate them, I just wish I was surrounded more by the people I love.

When I looked at the silky cake, I could tell the person knew how to bake.

What mattered a lot to me was that I did not have to be fake or pretend

to be happy. My smile was not fake, I felt like a beautiful dove.

Sonnet
3

About the Creator

Diani Alvarenga

“I write to give myself strength. I write to be the characters that I am not. I write to explore all the things I'm afraid of.”

Note: feel free to leave tips if you liked my stories! Would be greatly appreciated!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 3 months ago

    Fantastic amazing poem! Very well written

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.