Fiction logo

Warming the Soul - A Morning of Cookies & Comfort

Mindfulness

By StaringalePublished 11 days ago 2 min read
2
Warming the Soul - A Morning of Cookies & Comfort
Photo by Jayden Wong on Unsplash

Twitching, tossing, and turning, I couldn't get a peaceful slumber. My freezing feet inside the layers of blankets together with my numb limbs were stopping me from going to sleep.

Realizing the situation will keep me far away from dreamland, I opened my eyes and turned my head to see the time on the alarm clock. It was 3 in the morning.

Sitting up abruptly caused  the blankets to fall down  and I'm immediately hit by the cold, causing goosebumps to appear on my skin. Hurrying to freshen up, I grabbed a warm scarf and pulled it tight to keep out the cold.

Tip-toeing through the cold chilly hallways, I felt as if today was the coldest day of the year. In the kitchen, I warmed a big mug of milk and grabbed a box of assorted cookies before heading to the living room.

Turning on the news, I saw that the weather would remain the same all day. It was better if I stayed inside today. Thankfully, I had an off from the campus, so I didn't have to worry about attendance.

The howling wind outside striked the windows with a force that it caused the glass panes of the windows to rattle. Throwing in a matchstick, I watched as the crackling fire came to life.

Sitting on a warm rug in front of the fireplace, I had my meal of cookies and milk. The fire gave a feeling of comfort and warmth.

I was nodding off slowly. Jotting my self awake I placed the mug in the kitchen rack after washing.

Returning to the living room, I grabbed a blanket and pillow on my way. I spent half-an-hour walking to help with digestion, I placed the pillow on the couch, laid down, and threw the blanket over myself.

I had a clear view of the dancing and flickering flames in the fireplace. The warmth and the dancing flames lulled me into a peaceful state, pulling at my consciousness.

The comforting ambiance soon took me on a trip to the land of dreams, and I knew no more.

Have you experienced such a cold day? Do you stay indoors on a cold day or do you go outdoors?

Stream of ConsciousnessShort StoryfamilyAdventure
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk7 days ago

    Indoors for sure.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.